The Future of Being Human and Other Essays

In this third essay collection science fiction author Sylvia Engdahl departs from the theme of space colonization on which she previously has focused, and discusses such topics as artificial intelligence, "paranormal" psi powers, healthcare policy, and the coming loss of personal privacy. Her controversial views on these subjects will inspire thought about what the future is likely to bring. More
Download: epub mobi (Kindle) pdf Online Reader
About Sylvia Engdahl

Sylvia Engdahl is the author of ten science fiction novels. She is best known for her six traditionally-published Young Adult novels that are also enjoyed by adults. One of them, Enchantress from the Stars, was a Newbery Honor book, winner of the 2000 Phoenix Award of the Children's Literature Association, and a finalist for the 2002 Book Sense Book of the Year in the Rediscovery category. Her Children of the Star trilogy, originally written for teens, was republished as adult SF.

Recently she has written four independently-published novels for adults, the Hidden Flame dulogy and the RIsing Flame duology. Although all her novels take place in the distant future on hypothetical worlds and thus are categorized as science fiction, they are are directed more to mainstream readers than to avid science fiction fans.

Engdahl has also issued an updated edition of her 1974 nonfiction book The Planet-Girded Suns: The Long History of Belief in Exoplanets, which is focused on original research in primary sources of the 17th through early 20th centuries. In addition she has published three collections of essays.

Now retired, she lives in Eugene, Oregon and welcomes visitors to her website at It includes a large section on space colonization, of which she is a strong advocate, as well as detailed information about her books. She enjoys receiving email from her readers.

Learn more about Sylvia Engdahl
About the Series: Collected Essays
All Sylvia Engdahl's essays, including those previously published, those at her website, and new ones.

Also in Series: Collected Essays

Also by This Author

Also by This Publisher


This book has not yet been reviewed.
Report this book