Mud and Gold (Promises to Keep: Book 2)

Rated 4.94/5 based on 96 reviews
Amy tries desperately hard to be a good wife and mother. She puts her whole heart into doing the best she can. But will her best ever be good enough for this man?

"Mud and Gold" is the second book in the three-volume "Promises to Keep". It follows directly on from Book One, "Sentence of Marriage".

Available ebook formats: epub mobi pdf lrf html

First 50% Sample: epub mobi (Kindle) lrf Online Reader
About Shayne Parkinson

I write historical fiction set in New Zealand, starting in the 1880s. My sixth novel, "After the Roses", takes the series to 1924. I'm fascinated by social history, particularly that of my own country.

I live in a state of barely-controlled chaos; fortunately I share my life with an invariably calm and endlessly optimistic husband. I divide my time between an apartment in the city, in reach of good espresso, and a few acres in the country, where the rank grass in the orchard is kept under control by a small mob of sheep (and where we have our own espresso machine).

When I'm not writing, reading, or engaged in mundane activities, I play the piano rather badly.

Also in Series: Promises To Keep

Also by This Author

Readers of This Book Also Read


Review by: Annie on Feb. 10, 2017 :
I Always Love A Good Written Historical Book! This One Was Great! Great Enough For Me To Buy The Rest Of The Series right after I finished reading the first book! Loved it and recommend to every historical book Lovers.

Am really glad to have found this Author.
(reviewed 9 days after purchase)
Review by: Virginia Conlin on Dec. 13, 2014 :
Oh my. Where to start. Historical novel set in New Zealand in mid 1800s. A fascinating peek into lifestyle eg; many children, weekly backbreaking hand washing of all linen & clothing with boiling water (brought up in buckets from creek), ironing from fuel stoves, baking, constant hard work for people especially women who were considered property. Belting a wife & children (often severely) was commonplace.
This wonderful series follows the Leith extended family but focuses on Amy. Daughter of a dairy farmer, Amy at 13 became the woman of the house. Expected to fill the shoes of her recently deceased grandmother, Amys dream of becoming well educated and teaching remains a dream.
Amy falls in love at 15 and thus begins a life that none of us can imagine surviving - but survive she does. Her dignity, love for family and preparedness to forgive and respect is a lesson to us. She is a hard act to follow.
Congratulations Shayne!! This series (I'm on book 3) is brilliant. Thank goodness for slim ebooks that fit in a handbag because I can't put it down.
Looking for a terrific series at a very good price - you've got it here. Though I would have paid bookstore prices after being captivated by the first (FREE).
(reviewed 6 days after purchase)
Review by: Lara Hedbor on July 19, 2013 :
Exceptionally good, heart-hurting book that has you reading until your eyes bleed and your chin trembles.
(reviewed 8 months after purchase)
Review by: Carla Washburn on June 23, 2013 : (no rating)
Kept me captivated and wanting to read more. Quickly bought book 2 and 3 and was sad when I finished. May have to go back and read again.
(reviewed 21 days after purchase)
Review by: Judi Loy on June 14, 2013 :
Very good read
(reviewed 22 days after purchase)
Review by: Anne Evans-Murray on April 21, 2013 :
Great read! I quickly bought and read the entire list in this series, great value.
(reviewed 22 days after purchase)
Review by: Viv Goldsmith on April 21, 2013 :
I have really enjoyed reading this series of stories. Enjoyable read. Great to read novels based in New Zealand .
(reviewed 22 days after purchase)
Review by: Mac Carpenter on March 23, 2013 :
Have read the series and could not put it down. Keep writing.
(reviewed 22 days after purchase)
Review by: Brenda Falardeau on March 1, 2013 :
Great series! I agree with all of the comments. Please write more on this series.
(reviewed 40 days after purchase)
More reviews...

Print Edition

Report this book