The Four Books of Etretat: Part Two of Four

Rated 5.00/5 based on 1 reviews
In Book 1, Canadian bookstore owner Paul Sirenne exposed a secret war for a fortress in Etretat's chalk cliffs. In Book 2, Sirenne discovers the reason for the hidden war: the secret of immortality. The Abbey, a thousand-year old organization, is preparing Sirenne for a confrontation against the immortal Greyman. Unfortunately, the serial-killer Weissmuller seems to be playing a game of his own. More

Available ebook formats: epub mobi pdf rtf lrf pdb txt html

First 20% Sample: epub mobi (Kindle) lrf more Online Reader
About Matt Chatelain

Born in Ottawa, fifty-two years ago, I have been the owner of a used bookstore I opened in Ontario, since 1990. I have been writing since I was ten. Beginning with poetry, I quickly moved on to short stories and non-fiction pieces. I stayed in that format for many years, eventually self-publishing a franchise manual, as well as a variety of booklets.
Having semi-retired from the bookstore, I embarked on the project of writing my first serious novel, which I expanded to a four-book series after discovering an incredible mystery hidden within a French author's books.
My interests are eclectic. I like Quantum Physics,Cosmology, history, archaeology, science in general, mechanics, free power, recycling and re-use. I'm a good handyman and can usually fix just about anything. I'm good with computers. I love movies, both good and bad, preferring action and war movies. I can draw and paint fairly well but am so obsessed with perspective and light that I cannot think of much else. I am too detail-oriented.
I have been around books all my life. In my mid-forties, I decided to focus on writing as my future job. It took me five years to learn the trade. Now I know how fast I can write and how to develop my story and characters. I always wage an internal war to decide if my next story is going to be a mild mystery or a big stake epic. So far the big stakes are winning

Read Matt Chatelain's Smashwords Interview
Learn more about Matt Chatelain

Also in Series: The Caves of Etretat

Also by This Author


Carolyn Magura reviewed on Sep. 8, 2012

1. Action, adventure, suspense, intrigue, mystery – and all that’s just within the first few pages of author Matt Chatelain’s book The Four Books of Etretat, the 2nd book in the Sirenne Saga. While the action and adventure continue in this book, we also learn that Paul Sirenne – the primary character in this Saga – has been manipulated his entire life so that he would be prepared with the mental acuity needed to think on his feet; to solve puzzles quickly; to find the optimum solution to a situation that contains potentially many outcomes. They also discover that the overarching puzzle that he and his friends are working to solve spans many generations – possibly many thousands of years in the making. They also find that while Paul is the designated “leader”, at least 3 generations of each family living in the town of Etretat have also been involved – to one degree or another – in the mystery.

We – the readers – begin to suffer with Paul and his friends multiple struggles as their journey continues. The characters begin to struggle with the dichotomies of good vs evil; right vs wrong; perception vs reality; sacrificing the desires of one’s self for the benefit of many; accepted history vs newly discovered history; short term actions vs long term consequences – just to mention some of the ideas contained within the book. Paul and friends are assisted along the way by many and hindered along the way by many more. All the while Paul is called upon to use the particular strengths of each one of his friends to help solve each part of the puzzle that is presented to them at any given time.

I can’t wait to read book #3 and see what happens to Paul and friends next. Hope that you are enjoying these books as much as I am.
(review of free book)
Report this book