Inherited Danger

Rated 4.67/5 based on 6 reviews
Book Two of The Dawning of Power trilogy. Catrin leaves her homeland behind as she goes in search of knowledge and peace, unaware that she will face the greatest evil her world has ever known.

Available ebook formats: epub mobi pdf rtf lrf pdb txt html

About Brian Rathbone

Brian Rathbone is a horse trainer turned author and creator of The World of Godsland fantasy series, which includes Call of the Herald, Inherited Danger, Dragon Ore, and Regent (Feral and Regal are forthcoming). He is also the author of the Sam Flock novels, a paranormal adventure series that begins with Lure.

Also in Series: World of Godsland

Also by This Author

Readers of This Book Also Read


Review by: John H. Carroll on July 11, 2013 :
An excellent sequel. New details and suspense begin to unfold. New characters are added that are even more likeable. One of the things I like most about fantasy is that the authors always tend to was philosophical. Catrin explores her senses and how they relate to the world and other life around her. The concept of powers beyond the mortals and how they relate to supreme being/s really comes through.

There is more adventure and danger at every step of the way. The world is on the brink of destruction (as most usually are) but it's possibly the mechanizations of mankind that are a greater threat than any supernatural hazard.

Once again, I'm left wanting to start the next book instantly. :) These books are truly difficult to put down.
(review of free book)
Review by: gina gravlin on June 25, 2011 :
I started w/ this one by accident...almost done and just had to buy the other amazingly rich tale to escape are very gifted and thanks much to smashwords for making these books available
(review of free book)
Review by: Neils Erikson on June 9, 2011 :
Very good, like everything from Brian Rathbone
(reviewed 22 days after purchase)
Review by: Donna W on May 29, 2011 :
All I can say is WOW
(reviewed the day of purchase)
Review by: Dianne Gowanlock on Feb. 26, 2011 : (no rating)
I don't normally read fantasy so when I began reading the free copy of Book 1 'Call of The Herald' I didn't know if I'd enjoy it. Well,after only reading 50 pages I knew that I wanted to read the whole series. I'm intrigued with the story line and the characters. You can SEE the different lands and people and you want to know what happens to them. I look forward to finishing Book 1 and then reading Book 2 & 3. A great series.
(reviewed the day of purchase)
Review by: B Pine on Feb. 17, 2011 :
This is a nice story with a good pace and a strong heroine that you want to root for. The series sounds exciting. I picked up Inherited Danger before reading The Dawning of Power, and I kind of regret doing that. The second book leaves out any mention of what had transpired in the beginning. The beginning of the book draws you in, but you do not learn what happened for the group to set out on this mission and why they ended up on two different boats. I'm not a fan of lengthy synopses in the beginning of sequels, but the characters don't even talk about it in passing, which I found not very believable. So I was a bit lost for the first half of the book. It was hard to picture the characters, and I could not even tell how old Strom and Osbourne were. I wish I could have had more information on certain things, especially after finding out that Catrin's hair had been chopped short for some reason. I had to struggle through the story a bit after that change in perception. That being said, I like the overall plot, so I will likely pick up The Dawning of Power, but I must point out that this is not a standalone book. The series has to be started at the beginning if you want to truly enjoy the saga.
(reviewed 56 days after purchase)
Review by: Ron Dallison on Jan. 4, 2011 :
Excellent book! Very well written. Could not put it down! Great work, Brian!
(reviewed 37 days after purchase)

Print Edition

Audiobook Edition

Report this book