Dark Pilgrim Rising: Book one of the Dark Pilgrim Series

Rated 4.00/5 based on 1 reviews
A Science Fiction thriller set in the far distant future against a backdrop of hostile aliens, scheming Greater Houses and The Church of the Blessed Prophets, all trying to claim the throne of the Imperium left vacant when the emperor is assassinated. Greed and avarice, love and hope, despair and lust all find a place in the first of a six book series. More

Available ebook formats: epub mobi pdf rtf lrf pdb txt html

First 30% Sample: epub mobi (Kindle) lrf more Online Reader
Price: $0.99
Free! USD
Buy with coupon Use the code SSW75 at checkout to get this book for free during our site-wide promotion!
(Offer good through July 31, 2018 ) Add to Library Give as a Gift
About R. Peter Ubtrent

R. Peter Ubtrent was born in New York City but moved to Albuquerque, New Mexico at the age of eight. Although he has lived in both Florida and California, he seems to have settled in Edgewood, New Mexico for the moment.

Writing since high school, Peter has self-published seven science fiction novels, six in one series called 'Dark Pilgrim' and one stand-alone titled 'Eternity's Handmaiden.'

Peter has obtained bachelor's degrees in astrophyics, history, and Secondary Education, has a Master's degree in military history and has a Doctorate in military studies.

When he's not writing, Peter works in his gardens or builds wooden and plastic models. He has been married to Genevieve for over sixteen years.

Also in Series: Dark Pilgrim Series

Also by This Author

Readers of This Book Also Read


Review by: Susan Uttendorfsky on Aug. 30, 2012 : (no rating)
Dark Pilgrim Rising, the first of six works of fiction in the Dark Pilgrim series, is a carefully crafted science fiction novel. The reader is dropped far into the future into the middle of the two main characters’ 20-year stay in a harsh and hostile penal colony, while the religiously-based political elements called Houses swirl in cagey undercurrents in the discord that the emperor’s death has left behind. The number of different non-human species in this book is astounding. Mr. Ubtrent's excellent descriptions, and those of their human counterparts, are vivid and unique. The remarkable characters demand the reader’s attention, inserting themselves into the mind and heart, racing headlong toward the conclusion of this book. Which, really, is only the beginning. You’ll have to read the other five volumes to find out the true finale - Seed of Power, Dark Throne, Dark Enlightenment, Dark Redemption, and Fallen Pilgrim.

Susan Uttendorfsky
Owner, Adirondack Editing
(reviewed the day of purchase)

Review by: Angus H Day on July 26, 2012 :
This book is genuine proof that awesome work can occur outside of the big six publishers. The story is set far enough in the future to not become dated and it is an adventure worth the investment.
(reviewed 23 days after purchase)

Print Edition

Report this book