The Silurian, book 7: The Wounded Bear

Rated 5.00/5 based on 6 reviews
The Silurian, book 7, The Wounded Bear.
The road to Avalon is paved with death and endings; the advent of a new age that is dark with the fall of Arthur...and Bedwyr fights to the last of his strength to keep his warrior-king alive...

Available formats: epub mobi pdf lrf pdb txt html

First 10% Sample: epub mobi (Kindle) lrf more Online Reader
Words: 166,430
Language: English
ISBN: 9781476139555
About L.A. Wilson

L.A. Wilson
Unconventional author of 'The Silurian' series. 7 Books (book 8 and the final of the series is still a work in progress).
That Challenges the conventional Arthurian genre novel.
Imaginative creative writer, Iconoclastic, ever seeking to break the mold of mass produced and formulaic novel construction.

Also in Series: The Silurian

Also by This Author

Readers of This Book Also Read


Review by: Nickel Mann on May 13, 2014 :
Hurry up and get book 8 out. My only gripe is having to wait for the next book.
(reviewed long after purchase)

Review by: Peter Nicholas Farrell on April 24, 2014 :
As usual another superb installment in the ongoing Silurian series. I have been thoroughly hooked since reading the first episode and the hook is still set deep. The end of this series will seem like the death of an old friend.
(reviewed long after purchase)

Review by: Why Bother on May 29, 2013 :
I am so hooked by these Silurian series. The best I've ever read on Arthur. Irresistible, full of yearning, heartbreaks and love. I could not described my mixed emotions when I read the books; often time shedding tears on how deep the story between Arthur and Bedwyr has affected me. Brilliant.
(reviewed long after purchase)

Review by: kathy on Oct. 12, 2012 :
This series is so captivating that I have read all the books 4 times. I finish the series, read a different book(all the while just wanting to read Silurian's again) and then start the series over again. I hope the author gets the recognition they deserve for this story. I think it should be #1 on the best seller list. I am promoting it by word of mouth but it would help if the series was available on Kindle.
(reviewed long after purchase)

Review by: Timothy Amell on Sep. 25, 2012 :
If you haven't read the previous nine books in this series, stop now, go back, and begin with Book 1 in order to savor the ongoing story fully. For the followers of the series, there is little I can say that you don't already know and expect from this latest installment. As the end of the saga nears, the heartbreaks are more wrenching, the intrigues are more hair-raising, and the love is more fatalistically urgent. Bedwyr, Arthur, and all the regular characters are all here, familiar old friends, but each of them has changed, for better or for worse. What hasn't changed is the majesty and beauty of author L.A. Wilson's writing. Though the world of Bedwyr and Arthur is more darkly painted this time, there is still a brilliant light hidden just behind the clouds just waiting to burst through. I await the final book with a mixture of agony and ecstasy. If you are a loyal follower of the series, you will know that feeling well. Thank you, Mr. Wilson, for another tale brilliantly told.
(reviewed long after purchase)

Review by: Mary Josefina Cade on Sep. 10, 2012 :
Giving five stars to the 'The Wounded Bear' seems so inadequate. This book is like sunrise over water, flames reflected in a deep dark pool, a whirling wind from fifth century Britain carrying love, war, passion and death - and also humour. Bedwyr enjoys making outrageous remarks! L.A. Wilson has, for me, captured the essence of Arthur, the once and future king, a true myth, my hero. As is his greatest warrior Bedwyr.

I can't believe that Bedwyr has reached his forties. I remember him when he was a wild young boy, all the way back in Book one (The Fox and the Bear) helping Arthur to win his first battle. Now he's a wild adult man. Irresistible.

There is a warning about adult content but throughout all the books I found the love making scenes to be honest and true, the essence of passion. In 'The Wounded Bear' these scenes are especially beautiful, often a poem in themselves.
Whether the lovers are gay or straight seems to me to be completely irrelevant. It's just love.

'The Silurian' series tells the story of Arthur's efforts to create a peaceful and ordered Britain. There's always someone waiting to smash such dreams and 'The Wounded Bear' contains some monsters. The people who always want to spoil everything. I had to force myself to stop reading in order to do pointless things, like going to work or sleeping. I had to find out what happened next.

L.A. Wilson has written ten books, with one more to come. Each of these books is an experience. It's hard to describe - the best thing to do is to read the books - but once you've tasted the potent mixture that makes up each part of the story of Arthur and Bedwyr - nothing else will do. I suffer from total addiction but I'm a happy addict. Even in the midst of difficult and painful events the power of love shines through. When all else is gone Arthur and Bedwyr still have love and hope, the glimmer on the edge of sight, the secret place, Avalon.
(reviewed within a month of purchase)

Report this book