The End Of Desire: A Rowan Gant Investigation

Rated 5.00/5 based on 1 reviews
Evil has a name, and it is Miranda...

On his own and without any official sanction, Rowan Gant finds himself in Katrina devastated New Orleans hot on the trail of the sadistic serial killer calling herself Mistress Miranda. His every waking thought is consumed with stopping her before she kills again, but his dedication to the task is based on a deeply selfish reason - to save his wife, Felicity. More

Available ebook formats: epub mobi lrf pdb html

First 20% Sample: epub mobi (Kindle) lrf more Online Reader
About M. R. Sellars

A member of the ITW (International Thriller Writers), M. R. Sellars is a relatively unassuming homebody who, in his own words, considers himself just a “guy with a lot of nightmares and a word processing program.” Legend has it he started making up stories to entertain a stuffed bear during his single digit years, then began writing them down sometime around his early teens when the growing catalogue of fiction started causing him to experience migraines. Although he had several short stories and newspaper articles published during his early adult life, it wasn’t until 2000 that his first full-length novel, Harm None: A Rowan Gant Investigation, hit bookstore shelves, officially launching the acclaimed paranormal thriller series.

Sellars says that the biggest adjustment he has had to make with his writing career is coping with the time spent away from his family while traveling on promotional tours. Still, he approaches the necessity of public appearances with the same humorously deadpan and satirical wit that he applies to life in general, stating, “As long as I have an RC Cola and a bag of peanuts, I’m all good, Bubba.”

All of the current novels in Sellars’ continuing Rowan Gant Investigations saga have spent several consecutive weeks on numerous bookstore bestseller lists as well as a consistent showing on the Horror/Occult top 100. In 2010 a short e-novella featuring a supporting character from the RGI cast spawned a new series, The Special Agent Constance Mandalay Novels, the first in the spinoff being IN THE BLEAK MIDWINTER, which hit the streets November 2011.

Sellars currently resides in the Midwest with his incomparably amazing wife, equally fantastic daughter, and a pair of felines he describes as, “the competition.” At home, when not writing or taking care of the household, he indulges his passions for cooking and hanging out with friends. In order to satisfy his lifelong dream of being a satirical humor columnist for a major metropolitan newspaper, twice each week he removes his glasses, dons blue tights and a red cape, then blogs about the incredibly bizarre world that is his life as a writer, husband, and father. It has been said that his blog articles sometimes blur the line between fiction and reality. To that Sellars responds, “What line?”

M. R. Sellars can be located on the web wherever there is a virtual bar serving virtual single malt Scotch, single barrel bourbon, good Irish whisky, and decent beer. In other words, look for him on the major social networking sites.

Also in Series: The Rowan Gant Investigations

Also by This Author

Readers of This Book Also Read


Review by: Mike Gleason on Feb. 19, 2012 :
The End of Desire by M. R. Sellars © 2007 WillowTree Press eBook $2.99 (U.S.)

Once again we get to slide into Rowan Gant’s world…a world of psychics and Witches; of police and professional photographers; of things that not only go bump in the night, but which can bump you in the night. Rowan is the Witch (as is his wife, Felicity), his friend Ben is the police, and Felicity is the professional photographer as well as a channel for the things that go bump in the night.

I have been a fan of this series since I was turned on to it by a request from a reader of my reviews a few years ago. And the “Miranda trilogy”, of which this is the concluding installment has maintained the high quality of story-telling I have come to expect from Mr. Sellars. Oh, the magick is a bit over the top, and the Witchcraft owes a (very) small debt to Hollywood as well as a larger one to the Pagan community, but overall this I one of the most realistic series dealing with the topic of Witchcraft to come along, ever.

Rowan begins this book far from his native turf. He is in hurricane-ravaged New Orleans. His wife and High Priestess, Felicity, is in a mental ward in St. Louis as a result of (take your pick): a disembodied spirit, a Vodoun Lwa, or a major psychotic break. Rowan is searching for information which will help him to help her.

Unfortunately, Felicity is the logical half of this couple, and Rowan finds himself in deep trouble almost from the moment he lands in New Orleans.

As with the previous books (and this is #8 in the series), the action catches you and sweeps you along. Once you start reading, it becomes difficult to put the book down. The images are crisp and so realistic that you have no trouble visualizing what is happening.

In fact, that fast pacing, is one disadvantage to reading these books. It is hard to take the time to savor them. It normally takes me four days or so to read and review a book. The Rowan Gant books never take me more than two days each.

Even though this is the end of the Miranda trilogy, I can’t help feeling that we will encounter her again. The ending was a trifle too quick and clean, something that seldom happens to Rowan and Felicity. I know there are more books forthcoming in the series, so I wouldn’t take bets on what is coming up.
(reviewed 23 days after purchase)

Print Edition

Report this book