Heart Failure

Steve’s only 15 when his favorite lead singer dies. That loss makes him fear another. Older brother Tom is in the army, deployed to a war zone an ocean away. In only sixty days, Tom’s due home, but will he make it alive? And how can a kid brother help a soldier stay safe? This short story remembers the death of Jim Morrison in 1971, but the aching fear for a loved one fighting abroad is timeless. More

Available formats: epub mobi pdf rtf lrf pdb txt html

Words: 5,890
Language: English
ISBN: 9781301048755
About Diana Deverell

Diana Deverell has published seven novels, a short fiction collection, and many short stories. Her eighth novel, Hear My Plea, will be released in November, 2015. It’s the third in her series of legal thrillers set in Spokane and featuring Nora Dockson, a lawyer whose clients are all behind bars when she takes over their cases. The first two novels in the series, Help Me Nora and Right the Wrong, are available as ebooks.

Diana made her debut as a novelist in 1998 with a series of international thrillers featuring State Department counterterrorist analyst Kathryn “Casey” Collins: 12 Drummers Drumming, Night on Fire, and East Past Warsaw. All three core thrillers are included in The Casey Collins Trilogy, released as a single ebook in February, 2015. Diana’s short story, "Warm Bodies in a Cold War", originally published in 1996 under a different title, introduced Casey to the readership of the Foreign Service Journal. In 2012, she released No Place for an Honest Woman, a prequel to the series. The story, the prequel, and the core thrillers are available as ebooks.

In 2000, her short fiction starring FBI Special Agent Dawna Shepherd started making regular appearances in Alfred Hitchcock’s Mystery Magazine. Her mystery collection, Run & Gun: A Dozen Tales of Girls with Guns, includes eleven Dawna Shepherd stories first published by Alfred Hitchcock, plus all-new “Latin Groove”. Both the collection and “In Plain Sight”, her 2013 mystery, are available in e-editions. Dawna’s latest adventure, “Blown”, appeared in the Kobo Special Edition of Pulse Pounders, the January 2015 issue of Fiction River anthology magazine. “Blown: A Dawna Shepherd Short Story” is available as an ebook. It includes the bonus Dawna Shepherd short story, “Polonaise”, originally published in 2001.

In 2012, she released her comic mystery novel, Murder, Ken Kesey, and Me as an ebook.

Other digital editions include "Heart Failure", a short story set on the day Jim Morrison died, written to order for a publisher of textbooks for Danish teens learning English.

Diana is a member (and past board member) of the International Association of Crime Writers. She belongs to the American Women’s Club in Denmark and coordinates their writers’ group. Her short fiction has appeared in Good Works: Prose and Poetry by Ex-Pat Women in Denmark and been reprinted in Piece of Cake, an English textbook for Danish eighth-graders.

Also by This Author


This book has not yet been reviewed.
Report this book