The Chaos Chronicles (Books 1-3)

Rated 3.50/5 based on 4 reviews
An omnibus of three novels: Neptune Crossing, Strange Attractors, and The Infinite Sea. When John Bandicut encounters alien sentience on Triton, his life changes forever—from sacrificing everything to save Earth, to confronting a malicious entity at the edge of the galaxy, to fathoming the abyss of an alien ocean. A major hard-SF adventure from the Nebula-nominated author of Eternity's End. More
Available ebook formats: epub mobi pdf rtf lrf pdb txt html
First 20% Sample: mobi (Kindle) lrf pdb Online Reader
About Jeffrey A. Carver

Jeffrey A. Carver was a Nebula Award finalist for his novel Eternity's End. He also authored Battlestar Galactica, a novelization of the critically acclaimed television miniseries. His novels combine thought-provoking characters with engaging storytelling, and range from the adventures of the Star Rigger universe (Star Rigger's Way, Dragons in the Stars, and others) to the ongoing, character-driven hard SF of The Chaos Chronicles—which begins with Neptune Crossing and continues with Strange Attractors, The Infinite Sea, Sunborn, and now The Reefs of Time and its conclusion, Crucible of Time.

A native of Huron, Ohio, Carver lives with his family in the Boston area. He has taught writing in a variety of settings, from educational television to conferences for young writers to MIT, as well as his ongoing Ultimate Science Fiction Workshop with Craig Shaw Gardner. He has created a free web site for aspiring authors of all ages at

For a complete guide to Jeffrey A. Carver's ebooks, visit:

Learn more about Jeffrey A. Carver
About the Series: The Chaos Chronicles
A hard science fiction series inspired by the science of chaos. Follow the beleaguered John Bandicut as his life is transformed by the alien quarx on Neptune's largest moon. Saving the Earth is only the beginning. His adventures will take him to the edge of the galaxy and into companionship with an unlikely assortment of alien beings, all of them torn from their homeworlds by the enigmatic Masters of Shipworld. But they have been brought to Shipworld for a purpose, and that purpose could cost them their lives.

Also in Series: The Chaos Chronicles

Also by This Author

Reviews of The Chaos Chronicles (Books 1-3) by Jeffrey A. Carver

Benjamin Kelly reviewed on June 27, 2015

Neptune Crossing (Book 1)

John Bandicut is having a rough life. He lost his family in a tragic accident. He suffered a botched medical procedure that left him prone to psychotic episodes. If that isn’t enough, an alien on a suicide mission inhabited his brain and conscripted him into service. When the voice in his head tells him what he must do, he has a choice: play it safe and risk losing everything or take a leap of faith that will almost certainly cost him his life.

Neptune Crossing has moments of high tension and intense action metered by the hum-drum existence in an outer solar system mining operation. I enjoyed this story overall. The ending left me a bit hollow but in all fairness, this is book one in a six book series. The issue I had with the ending may well be resolved deeper into The Chaos Chronicles.

Strange Attractors (Book 2)

John Bandicut is on a grand adventure. After being pressed into service to save the Earth by the mysterious Translator in Neptune Crossing, he’s been hurdled out of the galaxy to an immense ship-world where he faces a threat as great as a killer asteroid but with an intelligence behind it. Along with the alien consciousness that lives in his head, Bandicut and his company of new friends risk it all to save the strange world where they’ve been stranded.

Carver has a knack for writing extended action scenes that make me feel like I’m on a runaway roller coaster ride. This book was no exception in that area. I thoroughly enjoyed Strange Attractors and I’m already reading book three, The Infinite Sea.

On a side note, I see a possible solution to the issue I had with the ending of Neptune Crossing. As I read the final pages of Strange Attractors, I had to pump my fist in the air and shout, “Yes!”

The Infinite Sea (Book 3)

John Bandicut is in over his head this time, deep under an alien sea. In book three of the Chaos Chronicles, he and his company of friends have been tasked with settling a dispute between people of the sea, and land dwellers while trying to figure out what mysterious force living at the bottom of the abyss is trying to kill them all.

The under-sea habitat and cramped submarines in this story kept me feeling the need to seek wide open spaces and fresh air.

Carver tossed in a few snippets from the life of a character from book one and I believe that the story is only going to get more interesting from here on out. I’m looking forward to starting book four.
(reviewed 2 years after purchase)
Richard Rose reviewed on July 11, 2012

I find that I have to agree witj previous reviews.
Neptune Crossing held my attentioneven when little was happening and I am basically a 'hard' science fiction reader.
The later 2 books are described by the author as basically being allowed to write themselves and 'on the evidence' I think that this is not a good way to write. I found them tedious and not very connected internally. There were , I suppose, too many Deii ex machina for my taste. However there are hints that the 4th book will tie everything together so I'll probably buy that too.
(reviewed 23 days after purchase)
Geoff Cannon reviewed on Dec. 6, 2011

Like Nikolaus, I enjoyed the first book, with its excellent plot and characterisation. However, I found the second and third books rather slow and tedious. It seemed that much of the material was not essential to the plot and merely served to extend the length of the book.
(reviewed 21 days after purchase)
bernie last reviewed on Feb. 2, 2011
(no rating)
So far I'm having a tough time reading this book.It's very slow going and I've read five other books after starting this one- because I'm losing interest in it.If the other two are not as good as the first ,as the other reviewer said ,then I may never finish them.
(reviewed 27 days after purchase)
Nikolaus Rath reviewed on Jan. 22, 2011

The first book (Neptune Crossing) is truly amazing, and I'd give it 5 stars. The entire science fiction flair stems from one really unusual alien live form and an extremely powerful and mysterious machine, but this is more than enough to deeply capture the reader.

The other two books, unfortunately, are a big disappointment. They feature tons of aliens and alien machinery, but they all act just like some random guy you'd meet on the street. In contrast to the first book, the aliens don't appear alien at all. In addition to that, the actions of the party that gathers around the protagonist seem totally without reason (unreasonable as in stupid, and not as in alien, that is). Moreover, the main storyline in book two is never truly resolved, at some point the "problem" (whose nature never became clear), is basically just declared as "solved".

The author occasionally switches perspective to some of the other characters, but these episodes are so short that they don't really give any insight into the character but just interrupt the flow of the book.
(reviewed 21 days after purchase)
Report this book