Artemisia - a Regency Novel in the Tradition of Jane Austen

Rated 5.00/5 based on 3 reviews
"A fun confection with a romantic spirit and droll English characters."
"I highly recommend this novel and author to readers who love Jane Austen, Georgette Heyer and traditional Regency romances!" - Austenesque Reviews

"Artemisia...is a great success; a protagonist of whom Jane Austen would have approved, majoring in wit and intelligence" - Richmond Magazine (UK) More

Available ebook formats: epub mobi pdf lrf pdb txt html

First 15% Sample: epub mobi (Kindle) lrf more Online Reader
Words: 105,560
Language: English
ISBN: 9781310000256
About DG Rampton

D.G. Rampton | Bestselling author of humorous Regency romance in the tradition of Jane Austen and Georgette Heyer |

I have always been a creative creature at heart, with a passion for storytelling in all its forms. But by some mischievous twist of fate I found myself studying engineering (the driest and most analytical of subjects!) and followed that up by working in the construction industry for ten years. What possessed me, you might well ask! Eventually, the call of my creative inclinations proved too demanding and I finally succumbed and started to write.

From my early years, I was drawn to the wit and eloquence of Jane Austen, Georgette Heyer and Oscar Wilde, so it was only natural that I would gravitate towards the Regency romance genre. But not the sex-fuelled kind that could make you blush in an empty room with the lights off. I prefer old-fashioned subtlety that delivers a good dose of passion but still allows the reader's powerful imagination to fill in the gaps and make the characters their own.

I also like to keep the story light-hearted - the proverbial rose coloured spectacles are kept firmly in place!

'Artemisia' is my first novel and I have been utterly surprised at the success it has enjoyed. When you start to write simply for the love of writing in a way that speaks to you, without considering if the end product will make money, you have few expectations of success and only hope that there is someone out there who shares your tastes. Well, it seems I'm not the only old-fashioned romantic out there who likes her heroes Alpha and her heroines feisty!

If it wasn't for the wonderful reviews I have received from my readers, I might never have started working on my second Regency Romance (fingers crossed, due in March 2017), so a big thank you to anyone who has left me a positive review.

If you are interested in learning more about me or my creative projects, here are my social media sites to visit:

Website: http://DGRampton.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DGRampton

Twitter: https://twitter.com/DGRampton

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/dgrampton

Youtube For The Love of Jane Austen Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC94Dac9TTUT3vEHX7OaRA1Q/feed

Readers of This Book Also Read

Reviews

Review by: RegRomFan on Jan. 16, 2014 :
Such a fun and fantastic read! I saw a really good magazine review on this book and had to read it for myself. I'm a devotee of the proper Regency Romance genre, i.e. Jane Austen and Georgette Heyer, and have searched in vain for years to find someone who can entertain me in their style. And I have finally found her! DG Rampton may not be an exact copy of Ms Austen or Heyer but she certainly conveys some of their style, and exhibits a wonderful voice of her very own. Highly, highly recommend this book!
(reviewed 7 days after purchase)

Review by: mahsa9 on Jan. 07, 2014 :
D.G Rampton,
I have just finished reading Artemisia! I enjoyed it so thoroughly that I am sorry it is finished. The dialogue was witty, the characters enchanting, and the plot unpredictable (I mean that in a good way). It was a very enjoyable read and I will recommend your book to my friends. I eagerly await your next novel!
(reviewed 36 days after purchase)

Review by: Betissa Ryan on Dec. 25, 2013 :
What a fabulously entertaining read over the Christmas holidays. It transported me back to my Uni years when I used to read endless amounts of Jane Austen.
(reviewed 23 days after purchase)

Print Edition

Report this book