Just Visiting

Rated 5.00/5 based on 4 reviews
Her hands and feet are tied and her mouth is gagged.She is a captive. She is being taken to a river full of crocodiles and she is terrified. How could it have come to this.

Susan goes on an idyllic holiday in Australia, The Barrier Reef is beautiful, Sydney and Melbourne wonderful.
She wants to see the Outback. An Australian man offers to take her. She likes him and goes with him. More
Download: epub mobi (Kindle) pdf more Online Reader
About Graham Wilson

Graham Wilson lives in Sydney Australia. He has completed and published nine separate books, and also a range of combined novel box sets.

They comprise two series,
1. The Old Balmain House Series
2. The Crocodile Spirit Dreaming Series

along with a family memoir. Children of Arnhem's Kaleidoscope

The first series starts with a novel called The Old Balmain House, based on an old a weatherboard cottage in Sydney where the author lived. Here a photo was discovered of a small girl who lived and died about 100 years ago. The book imagines the story of her life and family, based in the real Balmain, an early inner Sydney suburb, with it's locations and and historical events providing part of the story background. The second novel in this series, Lizzie's Tale builds on The Old Balmain House setting, It is the story of a working class teenage girl who lives in this same house in the 1950s and 1960s, It tells of how, when she becomes pregnant she is determined not to surrender her baby for adoption, and of her struggle to survive in this unforgiving society. The third novel in this series, Devil's Choice, follows the next generation of the family in Lizzie's Tale. Lizzie's daughter is faced with the awful choice of whether to seek the help of one of her mother's rapists' in trying to save the life of her own daughter who is inflicted with an incurable disease.

The Crocodile Spirit Dreaming Series comprises five novels based in Outback Australia. The first novel Just Visiting. tells the story of an English backpacker, Susan, who visits the Northern Territory and becomes captivated and in great danger from a man who loves crocodiles. The second book in the series, Creature of an Ancient Dreaming, (previously The Diary), follows the consequences of the first book based around the discovery of this man's remains and his diary and Susan, being placed on trial for murder. The third book, The Empty Place, is about Susan's struggle to retain her sanity in jail while her family and friends desperately try to find out what really happened on that fateful day before it is too late. In Lost Girls Susan vanishes and it tells the story of the search for her and four other lost girls whose passports were found in the possession of the man she killed. The final book in the series, Sunlit Shadow Dance is the story of a girl who appears in a remote aboriginal community in North Queensland, without any memory except for a name. It tells how she rebuilds her life from an empty shell and how, as fragments of the past return, with them come dark shadows that threaten to overwhelm her.

The book, Children of Arnhem's Kaleidoscope, is the story of the author's own life in the Northern Territory. It tells of his childhood in an aboriginal community in remote Arnhem Land, in Australia's Northern Territory, one of its last frontiers. It tells of the people, danger and beauty of this place, and of its transformation over the last half century with the coming of aboriginal rights and the discovery or uranium. It also tells of his surviving an attack by a large crocodile and of his work over two decades in the outback of the NT.

Books are published as ebooks by Smashwords, Amazon, Kobo, Ibooks and other major ebook publishers. Some books are available in print through Amazon Create Space.

Graham is in the early stages of planning a memoir about his family's connections with Ireland called Memories Only Remain and also is compiling information for a book about the early NT cattle industry, its people and its stories.

Graham writes for the creative pleasure it brings him. He is particularly gratified each time an unknown person chooses to download and read something he has written and write a review - good or bad, as this gives him an insight into what readers enjoy and helps him make ongoing improvements to his writing.

In his non writing life Graham is a veterinarian who work in wildlife conservation and for rural landholders. He lived a large part of his life in the Northern Territory and his books reflect this experience.

Also in Series: Crocodile Spirit Dreaming

Also by This Author

Readers of This Book Also Read


Review by: Ellen Elliott on Dec. 30, 2014 : (no rating)
Thoroughly enjoyed this novel as was hooked into wanting to know what happened next! The ending was a little abrupt but as there are sequels this was just a minor issue. The descriptions of the Northern Territory were vivid and enticing. Good read!
(review of free book)

Review by: JennyLP on Sep. 09, 2014 :
A great read with wonderful descriptions of places in the NT (and elsewhere) that are visited by this couple as they zig zag across the NT. Now I will need to read the next book to follow on with this chilling saga! Good on you Graham, keep up the great writing!
(review of free book)

Review by: eddieR on March 10, 2014 :
What a great story, loved the characters, loved the impossible choices, even got to feel sympathy for a crazy psychopath.
Here is a new author who I have just discovered who I think will go far. I have also downloaded the sequel and looking forward to seeing whether it lives up to expectations
(reviewed 2 days after purchase)

Review by: Amanda Ryan on Jan. 20, 2014 :
I have just re-read this book for the second time and think it is great. It seems to capture the Northern Territory with great authenticity. No surprise after reading the author's own memoir.
But it is also a really good story about how something which begins as love turns to horror and yet some of the love remains. The characters are such a mix of the good and the bad which is in us all.
(review of free book)

Review by: DBgolightly on Jan. 19, 2014 :
Just Visiting: Loved this book. The two main characters were well-written and believable. The descriptions of the peoples and Australian outback were amazing. Hope the sequel lives up to the first.
(review of free book)

Print Edition

Report this book