Who Killed the Lark

Private detective Kate Parnell is determined to solve the mysterious murder of highly respectable and popular Barbadian socialite Ada Lark. Set against the colourful background of Barbados in the 1990s, the wild shenanigans of Kate’s twin sisters Belle and Fleur, her own budding romance with a local detective, and the strange disappearance of her housemaid, ensure there is never a dull moment. More

Available ebook formats: epub mobi pdf rtf lrf pdb txt html

First 15% Sample: epub mobi (Kindle) lrf more Online Reader
About Margaret Knight

Born in Barbados in 1931, Margaret Knight was educated in Barbados and England. After studying nursing in London, she trained as a secretary and joined The Barbados Rediffusion Service. The first of her three marriages involved relocations to British Honduras and America, and much travel. Her second marriage, in London, brought her four children. Her third marriage took her back to Barbados, where she became a single working mother. She joined the Barbados Democratic Labour Party, and rose to the position of personal secretary to the late Prime Minister, Errol Barrow. After Barrow’s death, she continued to work for the new Prime Minister until her retirement in 1991. A natural writer, she was, for many years, a regular columnist for two Barbadian publications and won first prize for her short story “Tantie Rosita”.

Originally published in 2004, “Ginger Lily” was Margaret’s first novel. Together with four novels which followed, “Easter Lili”, “From Flying Fish to Kippers”, “The Healing Tree” and "Who Killed the Lark", Margaret’s books have all become bestsellers, not least because of her ability to create engaging characters and page turning storylines which capture the very essence and atmosphere of life in Barbados throughout the latter half of the 20th Century. She manages to entertain while successfully incorporating the more serious issues of the ever present racism and classism which, to some extent, persist on the island to the present day.

Her 5th novel, "Who Killed the Lark" finds Margaret departing somewhat from her familiar themes and instead leads us into a suspenseful detective story which retains all her usual wit and humour, as well as including plenty of unexpected twists and turns in a local murder mystery.

All of Margaret's books are available in a variety of downloadable formats here on Smashwords. Print versions of Margaret's books can be purchased at Days, Cloister and Pages bookstores in Barbados and on Amazon.com

Also by This Author


This book has not yet been reviewed.
Report this book