Layers of Light

Rated 5.00/5 based on 1 review
As an exchange student in India, a Texan teenager develops an unexpected ability. Once human trafficking touches her world, her mysterious talent shows hope for locating her friends. But, she will have to trust in abilities she barely believes exist and summon more courage than she thinks she has. And there will be no going back. More
Available ebook formats: epub mobi pdf lrf pdb txt html
About S. R. Cronin

Hi. I’m Sherrie Cronin, the author of a collection of six speculative fiction novels known as 46. Ascending. I’m now in the process of publishing a historical fantasy series called The War Stories of the Seven Troublesome Sisters. A quick look at the synopses of my books makes it obvious I’m fascinated by people achieving the astonishing by developing abilities they barely knew they had.

I’ve made a lot of stops along the way to writing these novels. I’ve lived in seven cities, visited forty-six countries, and worked as a waitress, technical writer, and geophysicist. Now I answer a hot-line. Along the way, I’ve lost several cats but acquired a husband who still loves me and three kids who’ve grown up just fine, both despite how odd I am.

All my life I’ve wanted to either tell these kinds of stories or be Chief Science Officer on the Starship Enterprise. These days I live and write in the mountains of Western North Carolina, where I admit I occasionally check my phone for a message from Captain Picard, just in case.

Learn about the new series at

Read S. R. Cronin's Smashwords Interview
Learn more about S. R. Cronin

Also in Series: 46. Ascending

Also by This Author

Reviews of Layers of Light by S. R. Cronin

Bob Craton reviewed on July 24, 2014

I loved the first three books in Ms. Cronin's "46. Ascending" series, and if this review seems similar to those I wrote for "x0," "z1," and "y2," it should not be a surprise. Each book features one member of the fictional Zeitman family (in this case teenage daughter Teddy). The genre is 'magical realism' which isn't exactly fantasy and not exactly science fiction either. The main characters are real, believable people who just happen to have a special power.

Once again the author tackles a very serious and harsh subject, in this case the sex trade. I don't give spoilers so I won't give a lot of plot details -- I suggest you read the author's summary instead. Despite certain similarities among the four books in the series, none of them are repetitive. Like the others, "c3" is a unique story. I like books with multiple plot-lines and those here are easy to follow. Some of the scenes are severe -- as I said, this is about the sex trade -- but I think anyone from the late teens to adults would benefit from reading this. Anyone who has read "x0" will understand what I mean.

As are the other volumes, this is a stand-alone story but if you are new to the series, I do suggest reading "x0" first. That way, the 'sudden' appearance of Teddy's mother's special talent won't be a surprise. (It really wasn't sudden.)

I remain very impressed with Ms. Cronin's talents and have thoroughly enjoyed each book. I did receive a free copy of 'C3" but was under no obligation to write a review for it. In fact, I purchased a copy on Smashwords just so I could post this review here.
(reviewed the day of purchase)

Print Edition

Report this book