The Thing I Didn't Know I Didn't Know

Rated 4.00/5 based on 2 reviews
Twenty-three-year-old Russel Middlebrook searches for the secret to gay life and love in trendy Seattle. A "new adult" novel by the author of the gay teen classic, Geography Club. More

Available ebook formats: epub mobi pdf lrf pdb txt html

First 30% Sample: epub mobi (Kindle) lrf more Online Reader
About Brent Hartinger

BRENT HARTINGER is an author and screenwriter. His first novel, Geography Club, is also a successful stage play and a feature film co-starring Scott Bakula. He has since published twelve more novels, most from major publishers such as HarperCollins and Simon & Schuster.

As a screenwriter, Brent has four film projects in development or pre-production, including Decked, the animated story behind a deck of playing cards, and The Starfish Scream, a teen drama.

In 2005, Brent co-founded the entertainment website AfterElton.com, which was sold to MTV/Viacom in 2006. He currently co-hosts a podcast called Media Carnivores from his home in Seattle, where he lives with his husband, writer Michael Jensen. www.brenthartinger.com

About the Series: Russel Middlebrook: The Futon Years
Gay twentysomething Russel Middlebrook struggles to understand life and love. A "new adult" trilogy featuring a character first introduced in the gay teen classic Geography Club.

Also in Series: Russel Middlebrook: The Futon Years

Also by This Author

Readers of This Book Also Read

Reviews

SeattleGayGuy reviewed on on Jan. 16, 2015

I've been following Russel Middlebrook from the very beginning back with Geography Club and this latest installment is a near seamless addition to his story.

After four books, Hartinger chose to jump Russel's story ahead so he's now in his early twenties and trying to figure out life while living in Seattle. Like the previous Russel books, the story is heartfelt without being schmaltzy, and insightful without being preachy.

I love the fact that Russel, Min, and Gunnar are all living together and all struggling the issues most of us grapple with in our early twenties. And I don't want to give anything away, but fans of Kevin will be happy see he returns in this book.

Whether you've been a fan of Russel all along or have just discovered him, The Thing I Didn't Know I Didn't Know is a great addition for gay books and fans of gay fiction.
(reviewed the day of purchase)
Jonovan O reviewed on on Dec. 28, 2014

This was one book I was looking forward to - I have known Russel since the first book, hence his return was welcome.

The problem with a book that skipped a few years of Russel's years was that it felt incomplete to begin with. What actually happened between Russel and Kevin? The narration was supposed to help but it felt more like a quick glance on the issues between them. Fans of Russel and Kevin were expected to accept the current situations they were in, without much detail.

I was expecting to read more about Russel and Kevin. However, it was disappointing to hear bits of Kevin here and there. And for the rest of the book, it was more like we had to deal with a 'lost' Russel. Kinda a downer to think that the lead of the book, who was gay, would be portrayed as someone 'lost'.

This book was missing the Kevin's part. I wanted to know what happened - between him, Russel and Colin but the book concentrated too much on Min and Gunnar, whom I was getting tired of. What the heck were they doing in the book?
(reviewed 4 days after purchase)
Report this book