The Thing I Didn't Know I Didn't Know

Rated 4.00/5 based on 2 reviews
Twenty-three-year-old Russel Middlebrook searches for the secret to gay life and love in trendy Seattle. A "new adult" novel by the author of the gay teen classic, Geography Club. More

Available ebook formats: epub mobi pdf lrf pdb txt html

First 30% Sample: epub mobi (Kindle) lrf more Online Reader
Price: $2.99
Free! USD
Buy with coupon Use the code SS100 at checkout to get this book for free during our site-wide promotion!
(Offer good through July 31, 2020 ) Add to Library Give as a Gift
About Brent Hartinger

BRENT HARTINGER is a novelist and screenwriter. His twelve novels include the 2003 gay teen classic GEOGRAPHY CLUB, which was adapted as a feature film in 2013.

Nine of Brent’s screenplays have been optioned for film, and four are currently in various stages of development, including PROJECT PAY DAY, a teen caper story based on his own novel, now in post-production for a 2020 release.

Brent currently has no permanent address, and instead continuously travels the world with his husband, writer Michael Jensen. Their "digital nomad" journey, which has been featured on CBS Sunday Morning and in Forbes, is documented on their website BrentandMichaelAreGoingPlaces.com.

www.brenthartinger.com

Learn more about Brent Hartinger
About the Series: Russel Middlebrook: The Futon Years
Gay twentysomething Russel Middlebrook struggles to understand life and love. A "new adult" trilogy featuring a character first introduced in the gay teen classic Geography Club.

Also in Series: Russel Middlebrook: The Futon Years

Also by This Author

Reviews

SeattleGayGuy reviewed on Jan. 16, 2015

I've been following Russel Middlebrook from the very beginning back with Geography Club and this latest installment is a near seamless addition to his story.

After four books, Hartinger chose to jump Russel's story ahead so he's now in his early twenties and trying to figure out life while living in Seattle. Like the previous Russel books, the story is heartfelt without being schmaltzy, and insightful without being preachy.

I love the fact that Russel, Min, and Gunnar are all living together and all struggling the issues most of us grapple with in our early twenties. And I don't want to give anything away, but fans of Kevin will be happy see he returns in this book.

Whether you've been a fan of Russel all along or have just discovered him, The Thing I Didn't Know I Didn't Know is a great addition for gay books and fans of gay fiction.
(reviewed the day of purchase)
Jonovan O reviewed on Dec. 28, 2014

This was one book I was looking forward to - I have known Russel since the first book, hence his return was welcome.

The problem with a book that skipped a few years of Russel's years was that it felt incomplete to begin with. What actually happened between Russel and Kevin? The narration was supposed to help but it felt more like a quick glance on the issues between them. Fans of Russel and Kevin were expected to accept the current situations they were in, without much detail.

I was expecting to read more about Russel and Kevin. However, it was disappointing to hear bits of Kevin here and there. And for the rest of the book, it was more like we had to deal with a 'lost' Russel. Kinda a downer to think that the lead of the book, who was gay, would be portrayed as someone 'lost'.

This book was missing the Kevin's part. I wanted to know what happened - between him, Russel and Colin but the book concentrated too much on Min and Gunnar, whom I was getting tired of. What the heck were they doing in the book?
(reviewed 4 days after purchase)
Report this book