The Turtle Mound Murder (A DAFFODILS Mystery)

Rated 4.50/5 based on 2 reviews
A Daffodils* Mystery (*Divorced And Finally Free Of Deceitful, Insensitive, Licentious Scum®)
In the tradition of The First Wives Club & Anne George’s Southern Sisters Mysteries, Mary Clay gives us a hilarious novel about middle-aged, Southern sorority sisters who reunite when the last of the trio divorces her two-timing husband.

Available ebook formats: epub mobi pdf lrf pdb html

First 20% Sample: epub mobi (Kindle) lrf more Online Reader
About Mary Clay

An economist by training, and a novelist by choice, Mary Clay--pen name for Linda-Tuck Jenkins, returned to her childhood love--writing--in her mid-40s. Mary Clay's comical DAFFODILS* Mystery series is set in her hometown of New Smyrna Beach, FL. (*Divorced And Finally Free of Deceitful, Insensitive, Licentious Scum TM)

Called "Witty and hilarious" by Midwest Book Review, and "A fun read" by Southern Halifax Magazine, THE TURTLE MOUND MURDER--first book in the series--is already in its fifth printing. According to Harriet Klausner, Amazon's #1 Reviewer, BIKE WEEK BLUES (second book in the series), "...is one of the funniest capers this reviewer has had the privilege of reading." MURDER IS THE PITS has been hailed as "a triumph" and MURDER IN THE STACKS "a fun read that's difficult to put down."

Learn more about Mary Clay

Also in Series: DAFFODILS* Mystery (Divorced And Finally Free Of Deceitful, Insensitive, Licentious Scum®)

Also by This Publisher

Reviews

Kylie Fells reviewed on May 2, 2020

Starting over at age 48 can't be easy, even when our subject is a sassy Southern belle former sorority sister or whatever they are after they graduate. Can't a gurl just be nozy? This is supposed to be a detective-style mystery but it's got lotsa sharp laughs. And let's not forget those Florida turtles are seriously endangered. As stories go (specially about people my mama's age), this is miraglease.
(reviewed 39 days after purchase)
Doug Pardee reviewed on May 8, 2010

A well-written and cleanly edited cozy.

I liked the genuine Southern flavor, but for me the three main characters had become a bit monotonous by the time the obligatory second murder was discovered. A little more depth would have been appreciated.

The characters also seemed to be not particularly "on the ball", overlooking things that were obvious to me. But the story still worked, so I can't complain too much.

I'm not sure that I'd agree with the description (above) that the story is 'hilarious'. It's a fairly light-hearted cozy, more quirky than menacing, and you might get a few giggles here and there, but it's not a comedy.
(reviewed 57 days after purchase)

Print Edition

Report this book