Collected Works

Canadian writer Norman MacDonald’s complete oeuvre in one edition! Four novels, plus many short stories and essays. Readers who appreciate Hemingway will enjoy MacDonald's simple yet intense tales: a young logger finding his way in the novel "Lost Magnificence", and the "Bugle Trilogy" where a boy becomes a pacifist in an oppressive regime. Essays on his literary theories, poetry, and more. More

Available ebook formats: epub mobi pdf rtf lrf pdb txt html

First 10% Sample: epub mobi (Kindle) lrf more Online Reader
About Norman MacDonald

Norman MacDonald was born and raised in British Columbia. Except for excursions to Nova Scotia, California and Alaska, he lived there all his life. He lived in mining, fishing and logging towns as well as in a city, and he worked on construction projects deep in the wilderness.

A graduate of the University Of British Columbia, Norm became a schoolteacher to support his wife and two sons. However, he always felt that his real, if unpaid, job was to develop what he finally came to call humaniwriting and Humanilit, a somewhat different approach to narration and the widely applicable product it results in.

The turning point of Norm’s life came when he read The Old Man And The Sea and noticed how Ernest Hemingway had dealt with names in it. Practically all of his own work followed from that, and in Lost Magnificence he acknowledges his debt to Hemingway by reminding readers of his great story. Perhaps the only other thing these authors have in common is the high value they place on simplicity — though they value it for different reasons.

Norman MacDonald died in Vancouver, British Columbia, in 2014.

Also by This Author


This book has not yet been reviewed.

Print Edition

Report this book