The Bugle Trilogy

Three complete novels in one edition! "The Bugle Trilogy" is Norman MacDonald's epic story of a young man who resists his country's push towards police-state militarization and war. Readers who enjoy Hemingway will be drawn into MacDonald's simple yet powerful writing. Bonus material: an essay and afterwords to the novels are included. More

Available ebook formats: epub mobi pdf rtf lrf pdb txt html

First 15% Sample: epub mobi (Kindle) lrf more Online Reader
Words: 179,450
Language: English
ISBN: 9780991964543
About Norman MacDonald

Norman MacDonald was born and raised in British Columbia. Except for excursions to Nova Scotia, California and Alaska, he lived there all his life. He lived in mining, fishing and logging towns as well as in a city, and he worked on construction projects deep in the wilderness.

A graduate of the University Of British Columbia, Norm became a schoolteacher to support his wife and two sons. However, he always felt that his real, if unpaid, job was to develop what he finally came to call humaniwriting and Humanilit, a somewhat different approach to narration and the widely applicable product it results in.

The turning point of Norm’s life came when he read The Old Man And The Sea and noticed how Ernest Hemingway had dealt with names in it. Practically all of his own work followed from that, and in Lost Magnificence he acknowledges his debt to Hemingway by reminding readers of his great story. Perhaps the only other thing these authors have in common is the high value they place on simplicity — though they value it for different reasons.

Norman MacDonald died in Vancouver, British Columbia, in 2014.

Also by This Author


This book has not yet been reviewed.
Report this book