The Riyria Sampler

Three short stories and an excerpt from the upcoming novel (The Death of Dulgath) provides an introduction to Riyria, a team of rogues featuring Hadrian Blackwater (an idealistic swordsman) and Royce Melborn (a cynical thief). This sampler provides some examples to help the reader determine if the full-length novels are a good fit for their reading preferences. More
Download: epub
About Michael J. Sullivan

After finding a manual typewriter in the basement of a friend’s house, Michael inserted a blank piece of paper and typed: It was a dark and stormy night and a shot rang out. Well, he was just eight years old at the time, so we’ll forgive him that trespass. But the desire to fill the blank page and see what doors the typewriter keys would unlock wouldn’t let him go. For ten years Michael developed his craft by studying authors such as Stephen King, Ayn Rand, and John Steinbeck. During that time, he wrote twelve novels, and after finding no traction in publishing, he gave up and vowed never to write creatively again.

Michael discovered that never is a very long time, and he ended his writing hiatus after a decade. The itch returned when he decided to create a series of books for his then thirteen-year-old daughter, who was struggling in school due to dyslexia. Intrigued by the idea of writing a series with an overarching story line, he created the Riyria Revelations. Each of the six books was written as an individual episode but also included intertwining elements and mysteries that develop over time. Michael describes this endeavor as something he did “just for fun with no intention of publishing.” After presenting the first manuscript to his daughter, he was chagrined that she declared, “I can’t read it like this, can’t you get it published?”

So began his second adventure on the road to publication, which included: drafting his wife to be his business manager; signing with an independent press; and later creating a small press. After two and a half years, the first five books sold more than 70,000 copies and ranked in the top twenty of multiple Amazon fantasy lists. In November 2010, he leveraged his success and received his first commercial publishing contract for three novels from Orbit Books (the fantasy imprint of Hachette Book Group, USA). In addition, Michael reached international status with more than fifteen foreign rights translations including France, Spain, Russia, and Germany, just to name a few.

Michael’s work has been well received by critics and readers alike, earning him thousands of positive ratings/reviews, interviews, and articles. He has attributed much of his success to the fantasy book blogging community. Dubbed “the little indie that could” he found his books pitted as the only independent in major competitions such as the 2010 and 2012 Goodreads Choice Award Nominee for Fantasy and the 2009 Book Spot Central’s Fantasy Tournament of Books, which he won. His traditionally published edition of Theft of Swords was short-listed for the 2013 Audie Award for Fantasy.

Today, Michael continues to fill blank pages and in working on his third series tentatively titled The First Empire.

Contact Information
Twitter: @author_sullivan
Facebook (author):
Facebook (series):

Michael Sullivan’s Works

The Riyria Revelations
Theft of Swords (contains The Crown Conspiracy and Avempartha)
Rise of Empire (contains Nyphron Rising and The Emerald Storm)
Heir of Novron (contains Wintertide and Percepliquis)

The Riyria Chronicles
The Crown Tower
The Rose and the Thorn

Standalone Novels
Hollow World
Antithesis (coming soon)
A Burden to the Earth (coming soon)

Short Stories
Sold Individually
The Viscount and the Witch (Fantasy: The Riyria Chronicles)
Greener Grass (Dystopian Science Fiction)
The Jester (Fantasy: The Riyria Chronicles)

The End—Visions of Apocalypse: Burning Alexandria (Dystopian Science Fiction)
Triumph Over Tragedy: Traditions (Fantasy: Tales from Elan)
Unfettered: The Jester (Fantasy: The Riyria Chronicles)
Fantasy Faction: Autumn Mists (Fantasy: Contemporary)
Help Fund My Robot Army!: The New and Improved Monkey Paw (Fantasy: Contemporary)

Learn more about Michael J. Sullivan
About the Series: The Riyria Chronicles
The Riyria Chronicles are a series of novels and short stories following the adventures of Royce Melborn (a cynical thief) and Hadrian Blackwater (an idealistic ex-mercenary) in the years prior to the events of The Riyria Revelations.

Also in Series: The Riyria Chronicles

Also by This Author

Also by This Publisher

Reviews of The Riyria Sampler by Michael J. Sullivan

This book has not yet been reviewed.
Report this book