The Light of Truth

Rated 5.00/5 based on 1 review
Elizabeth is a woman living in the time of the Apostle John. A member of a traditional Jewish family, she knows that she would be considered a heretic and disowned from her family if she listened to him, or to any Christian man. But when events in her life and the lives of her family members take a dramatic turn, Elizabeth, in desperation, decides to seek him out, More
Available ebook formats: epub mobi pdf lrf pdb txt html
First 15% Sample: epub mobi (Kindle) lrf more Online Reader
About Susan M B Preston

In a temporary departure from her fiction series, Susan M B Preston has produced a non-fiction help book, which is also a memoir, workbook and guide.

Now, Susan Preston is an author living on oxygen 24/7
A registered Trainer and Assessor in Western Australia; she knows how to provide material to help others. Now, she has turned her hand to writing the book she wished she had when she was first prescribed home oxygen 24/7
In her younger years, Susan Preston was an Aftercare Nursing Sister, an RMN. She worked in a community clinic, visited patients in home, and is well aware of the psychological aspects of life changes.
She said, “I tried to find book on living with oxygen written by people who use oxygen and could find none, so I decided to write my own.”
Although the author of a Christian Historical fiction series, this book is purely a help guide and memoir of her first nine months on oxygen.

Her fiction books...
The Apostle John series has won five-star reviews and Finalist Awards from Readers’ Favorite and from the Independent Author Network.
Now a widow, Preston’s main interest is her writing, Skyping with friends and family, and running the occasional beginner’s computer course.
Having suffered the loss, of a husband and a teenager, brings an element of understanding of the emotions of the characters in her books.
Born in a historical town in the Scottish borders it is hardly a surprise to discover that history has always fascinated Preston. Living in Perth, Western Australia could hardly be more different. The climate in Perth is as hot as her hometown was cold and the variety of insect life, including large spiders, is one of the least-liked aspects of life in Australia. She does like the fact she can hang out her washing and have it dry within an hour.
Although she has written other types of books in the past, The Apostle John series of books is Preston’s first foray into the world of Christian, historical fiction. Another series is planned, Biblical fiction this time, set much farther back in time.
And by the way… the fact Susan M B Preston has a Microsoft Office 2007 Master’s qualification has helped her format her work, make trailers, and publicity material – an enjoyable pastime to her. In fact, she will stop and write an illustrated help guide for beginners who are ‘stuck’ trying to figure out a computer function.

Quote from a Readers' Favorite review...
" Susan M.B. Preston doesn’t only demonstrate a detailed knowledge of the Bible and the life of the earliest followers of Jesus, but an equally strong gift for compelling writing."

Writing history...
We are Divorced. A book for children. Also used in training sessions with the leaders of children's clubs, to help them better understand the needs of some children in their groups.
Co-founded a programme called Koinonia for the Western Australian Anglican Diocese, the purpose of which was to prepare children for communion. (With another leader, ran weekend camps for the children in the programme.)
Co-authored several books on 'Children in the Church'.

Hold the Faith - Part 1 in the Apostle John series (Feb 2013)
Grow in Grace - Part 2 in the Apostle John series (August 2013)
The LIght of Truth - Part 3 in the Apostle John series (July 2015)
Keep the Flame Part 4 in the Apostle John series (October 2016)
Hell Shall Not Prevail - Part 5 (and final) in the Apostle John series (December 2017)
Novellas on some of the characters - coming in 2018

Of course, there were also the help guides...
Susan is a Certified computer trainer who saw the need for learners to have clearer manuals, Susan painstakingly compiled 'How to Books' for her clients. One of the larger manuals was used for several years by the Registered Training Centre where she worked as a contract trainer.
Master qualifications in Microsoft Office 2007
Several Certificate IV Business qualifications
Small business owner
And from all these - many experiences... all of which make Susan who she is today and brings life to her characters.

Read Susan M B Preston's Smashwords Interview
Learn more about Susan M B Preston

Also by This Author

Reviews of The Light of Truth by Susan M B Preston

Mariela Reiss reviewed on July 20, 2015

Grow in Grace is Book 3 in the Apostle John series, which follows the lives of early Christians in Ephesus in the first century.

I’ve read all the books in the series so far, and each book is better than the last. In Book 3, we are back with the fictional family of the Apostle John. This book shows how the early Christians (and any Jewish converts) had to face increasing pressure from both Roman authorities and the Jewish community.

The Apostle John and great-grandson Benjamin are busy trying to finish writing the Gospel of John. They do this in the face of increasing threats and interference from the local Roman governor, which is threatening not just them personally, but the local congregation as well.

And while this is happening, the Jewish mother of Rachel seeks answers to the miracles God has worked in the lives of her daughters and her infant great-nephew. But her search for truth puts her and her daughter Rachel in danger of being ostracized by their family and the Jewish community. With Rachel’s father becoming increasingly erratic, due to pressures of his own, things come to a head in this book.

One of the women will make the irrevocable choice to become a Christian. And Benjamin will have to come to a life-changing decision of his own.

This book was a wonderful, family-friendly (except for one scene of violence, which is handled delicately), thoughtful look into the daily lives and pressures of the earliest Christians. It makes history come alive and I loved it. I was so sad when I reached the end of the book, but happy to know their story will continue in Book 4.
(reviewed the day of purchase)

Print Edition

Report this book