Broken Blades Don't Sing (Tales of Ashkar Book One)

Rated 4.00/5 based on 2 reviews
Ashkar needs a hero to save it. What it gets, however, might just bring about its end. Serraemas—one of the first of human elementalists—sees the world not how it is, but how it should be. Able to manipulate the element of ice, he sets out to realize that dream. The more he reaches out to the stars, the more he loses those around him that he loves. Where the light shines, the darkness also grows. More

Available ebook formats: epub mobi pdf lrf pdb txt html

First 15% Sample: epub mobi (Kindle) lrf more Online Reader
About Kayl Karadjian

Kayl Karadjian is a lifelong fan of Science-Fiction and Fantasy books, Manga, and Role-playing games. He is the author of multiple books in the Tales of Ashkar and Dragonsoul series. When he is not immersed in the worlds inside his head (which is 24/7, actually), Kayl enjoys traveling and exploring nature with his wife, Catherine.

About the Series: Tales of Ashkar
Elementalists—those that have the ability to command the elements. Only recently has humanity witnessed such unfathomable power. Some believe it is a curse. That elementalists are possessed by demons. Others claim it is a gift from the deities above.

It is neither.

Some use it for good, helping those in need and dedicating their lives to selflessness. Others use it for power and personal gain.

Neither understand what elementalism truly is.

Serraemas—one of the first of human elementalists—sees the world not how it is, but how it should be. Able to manipulate the element of ice, he sets out to realize that dream. What he has yet to discover is that in trying to save the world, he might just bring about its end instead.

Also in Series: Tales of Ashkar

Also by This Author

Readers of This Book Also Read


Review by: Anna Fantabulous on Oct. 26, 2015 :
Interesting fantasy adventure set in a galaxy far far away! There are creatures on the planet who have their own inner plus-one: i.e. beings that give them the power over one of the 8 elements: Fire, Water, Air, Earth, Ice, Lightning, Time, and Space.

The main hero is Serraemas, whose elemental being is Zaranet, giving him the power over Ice.
Raxxil, whose elemental essence is Vrand, giving him the power of Fire.
Erendil, whose elemental being is Akaba, giving him the power of Space (or at least sensing the outlines of shapes and things).

The three are either the followers or graduates of The School of Eight founded by elementalists including Masters Wu and Graeme Warren.

Samantha Kell, whose elemental being is Kavem - controls Air and heads a regiment of eleven men as Lieutenant of the 11th battalion of the Order of the Faith - basically working for the bureaucracy / king.

The paths of all four converge when they must fight the rising demonic force that threatens to annihilate the planet’s creatures. That demon, Orbo, is residing within swashbuckling cynical do-no-gooder Aramal because he carries a grimoire (book, which he found).

Karadjian has clearly conceived this as a trilogy, so readers can look forward to more action and mysteries. I had a bit of trouble following the timeline: Serraemas is first introduced as an 8-year old boy in ‘176th Dusk of the 4907th Age of Rimas’; most of the action takes place during ‘347th Dawn of the 4999th Age of Rimas’ with the climax occurring in ‘4th Dusk of the 5000th Age of Lion’ and the book ends at ‘34th Dawn of the 5000th Age of Lion’ when Serraemas is still alive - so how old is the dude? 100? 150? 10,000?

Love the nerdy ‘comic book’ cover.

I received a free copy of the book in exchange for a fair, unbiased and non-reciprocal review.
(review of free book)
Review by: Catkat123 on Oct. 7, 2015 :
This newly beloved story will take you on a journey to remember. With characters that embodies an authenticity, that I have only witnessed a couple times before. A true insight into the minds of characters who are neither good nor evil, but seeking a greater purpose. With mystery, dramatic battles, philosophical provoking layers, a hint of humor, and the emotional battle between loss and the ideas of nobility. Broken Blades Don't Sing, left me with a new perspective on honor and love, and with anticipation for the next novel in the Tales of Ashkar series.
(review of free book)

Print Edition

Report this book