Vinyl: Book One of the Vinyl Trilogy

Rated 4.60/5 based on 5 reviews
Legend meets Leviathan in this gritty steampunk fiction by debut author Sophia Elaine Hanson. Charged with fear, heavy with heartbreak, and stitched with unexpected moments of joy, Vinyl is perfect for fans of Cinder and Divergent. The first in a trilogy, Vinyl is a story of loyalty, passion, trauma, and the extraordinary power of music. More

Available ebook formats: epub

Words: 100,310
Language: English
ISBN: 9780692579695
About Sophia Elaine Hanson

Sophia has been writing novels, short stories, and poems since she was still losing her baby teeth. Throughout her high school career, she amassed an impressive 35 Scholastic Art and Writing Awards including two National Gold Medals for science fiction short stories. As a Scholastic alumnus, she joins the ranks of many great authors including Truman Capote, Sylvia Plath, and Joyce Carol Oates. Her critically acclaimed debut novel, Vinyl: Book One of the Vinyl Trilogy, spent many weeks in the number one position on Amazon. Her first book of poetry entitled hummingbird was released in early 2017. Sophia grew up in Iowa with two dogs and two fantastic parents. She now resides in New York City as a student at her dream school, NYU. She loves pigeons and Star Wars. To learn more, see Sophia’s blog at: www.sophiaelainehanson.com or follow her on Instagram and Twitter @authorsehanson.

Also by This Author

Readers of This Book Also Read

Reviews

Review by: ElizaB9988 on Dec. 09, 2015 :
wow, what an insane book! Holy bananas!! Okay, I don’t even know where to begin because so much happens and I don’t want to give anything away… “Vinyl: Book one of the Vinyl Trilogy” by author Sophia Hanson is one of the most original and just flat out interesting fantasy/ science fiction/ dystopian novels I’ve ever read. I liked it for so many different reasons, first the writing was stellar. The strong word choice and fluid prose makes it a very easy book to sink into. There are enough descriptions where you can picture everything perfectly, but not so much that it bogs down the pacing. I wish I knew what the characters looked like better though, because some of them I had hard time keeping straight. I liked that there were things I haven’t seen in other books like this before, and it just felt more “intelligent” than others I’ve read, like there is a deep underlying philosophical message there that goes deeper than just beneath the surface. One thing I have really been loving about this new explosion of NA/YA authors over the past few years is that they keep coming up with new and creative ways to improve upon existing themes. This is wonderful because there are certain themes, like good versus evil, free will and freedom, fighting against the status quo…etc… which will never go out of style. But sometimes you can feel like you are reading the same story over and over. Well this was not the case here! This almost seems like it could be a movie or a miniseries… Looking forward to the next one as soon as it’s out!
(reviewed the day of purchase)

Review by: Kaylee Stevens on Dec. 08, 2015 :
At first I was immediately grabbed into the story of “Vinyl” by Sophia Elaine Hanson, and became immersed in the intricate world building and trippy plot development. But even though the writing was stunningly good, there were times I felt the story wasn’t as focused as I’d like, with some conversations and scenes maybe weren’t necessary and perhaps could have been eliminated to tighten the narrative some… like it was a bit overwritten (especially with the dialogue tags). But at the same time, the pacing was fast, I liked that we saw different character POV’s, and there was pretty much nonstop action and some DEFINITELY crazy developments toward the end. It felt fresh and unpredictable, always a nice experience, especially in a genre that is fraught with copycats. Intelligent, complex plotlines that are super weird, and I mean that as a compliment. Mad props to this author as I think she has a great future in store for her. All in all I’d be interested in continuing on with this series, especially because I have to see what happens!
(reviewed the day of purchase)

Review by: Claire Middleton on Dec. 07, 2015 :
a compelling read, and one that will definitely appeal to fans of dystopian/sci-fi/action novels. Author Sophia Elaine Hanson does an amazing job of bringing this incredible world to life where man must fight against mental and emotional enslavement. “Passion is perilous”. Very interesting concept, and the premise feels like nothing I’ve come across before. Although there are common elements, Ms. Hanson’s voice is unique, and her characters fresh and engaging. We really root (or cry) for them and get totally invested in the outcome. BTW the editing was GREAT! Nearly flawless, and that is rare. And appreciated! Great, authentic dialogue that flowed well and moved the plot forward nicely, sparing us of the dreaded “telling” that so many authors tend to do. We feel like we are a part of the book and I recommend for fans of Dystopian Sci-fi who’d like a new twist. This is the first in a trilogy though, so we are still in for more of a ride. Can’t wait!
(reviewed the day of purchase)

Review by: LauraClarke on Dec. 03, 2015 :
4.5 stars
This book was an interesting mix of so many elements… I can’t quite say that I’ve ever really read anything like it before, but I can see it appealing to fans of “Divergent” (never read “Cinder” though). Great writing and wonderful characters… really liked Ronja, but Roark, Evie, Terra and the others were awesome too. I really hope that things “turn around” in the next book. There are many complex subplots woven throughout and while this is a longer book for YA, it was fast paced and the prose is gorgeous – we can picture everything perfectly. Can see fantasy/sci fans really liking it, even those who maybe it’s not their thing, there is a lot of action and has a great message. Something for everyone, I think.
(reviewed the day of purchase)

Review by: Jenna Brewster on Dec. 02, 2015 :
I was hooked from the opening pages of “Vinyl” by Sophia Hanson and my interest never wavered for a moment! I loved the creative and strong characters and plots that continued to build and shock and surprise. Just when you think you know what’s happening, something comes along to throw a wrench in it. This is good because I HATE books that are super predictable. And this one isn’t. Although there are some familiar themes and tropes at play, the author brings a fresh voice and makes it all her own… impressively so. I’ve read a ton of YA fantasy and science fiction over the years so I’m rarely surprised by anything anymore but I can say that this author managed to do it. I appreciated the brisk pace and the descriptive details that really brought the story to life – world building is absolutely crucial in selling a ‘fantasy’ story and it is done quite nicely here. Will be interested in seeing where this series and our leads go to in the next one. Recommend for anyone (adults) who enjoy a well-written, action packed, alternative reality novel with unexpected twists.
(reviewed the day of purchase)

Print Edition

Report this book