Voice from an Urn

Rated 5.00/5 based on 1 reviews
Voice from an Urn answers the questions most frequently asked by readers of Viga Boland’s first memoir of incest, the gold-medal winning “No Tears for my Father”. There are no simple answers to "Did your mother know?" or "Why didn't she do anything?" But using her mother's own words and voice, Viga Boland brings her true story of childhood sexual abuse to a touching close to her gripping trilogy. More

Available ebook formats: epub mobi pdf rtf lrf pdb txt html

First 20% Sample: epub mobi (Kindle) lrf more Online Reader
About Viga Boland

Viga Boland is the author of 4 books, three of which are memoirs based on the childhood sexual abuse (incest) to which she was subjected from the ages of 11-24. She kept the abuse secret for nearly 45 years, not even telling her husband and family until she was 65. On hearing the details, her small but supportive family encouraged her to write her true story to help other victims of incest realize they are not alone and to increase awareness of this much denied form of sexual abuse. The result of the encouragement was her first memoir, self-published in 2013, "NO TEARS FOR MY FATHER", for which she received a Gold Medal in the 2014 Readers Favourites Awards.

Today, at 70 years of age, Viga Boland is a popular speaker at conferences on Sexual Violence. She also blogs and podcasts on sexual abuse, (i-Tunes, Stitcher, Podcasts.com) along with teaching memoir writing in her local library. She is also devoted to helping other memoir writers increase their visibility via her blogs and podcasts at http://www.memoirabilia.ca

Viga's 2nd memoir, "Learning to Love Myself" is centered on her story of healing and self-discovery as someone worthy of love. This book is an uplifting and enjoyable read. The 3rd memoir in this series on sexual abuse, "Voice from an Urn", answers questions about Viga's mother's role, if she had one, in the incest. You can listen to sections of this book via her "VIGALAND" podcast. (See Viga's personal website for the links on iTunes and Stitcher)

Viga's other book. a semi-memoir, is a very humorous account of her 4-5 years in a Catholic High School in the early 60's. "The Ladies of Loretto", at this time, is only available from Viga's personal website: http://www.vigaboland.com

Read Viga Boland's Smashwords Interview
Learn more about Viga Boland
About the Series: No Tears for my Father
A trilogy that covers over 50 years in the life of the author, from the time she was a victim of incest at the hands of her biological father beginning at age 11, to her life today. The first memoir, "No Tears for my Father" earned a gold medal in the 2014 Readers Favorite Book Awards. This is the most graphic and disturbing section in this memoir of childhood sexual abuse. The second book, "Learning to Love Myself", is a gentler read showing the rebirth and recovery of a woman after sexual abuse but still touching on the long term effects on all family members and generations. The final book, "Voice from an Urn" is the story of the incest but told, this time, through the author's mother's voice. It answers questions readers raised after reading "No Tears for my Father. All three books move along swiftly, but engage readers both emotionally and intellectually. It is not enough to read just one. Only reading all three books is fully satisfying.

Also in Series: No Tears for my Father

Also by This Author


Cheryl B. Evans reviewed on Sep. 10, 2016

This is a stunningly real memoir. I had to stop reading at one point because the vividness of the writing overwhelmed me, it was just that good. The story is told in the author's mother's voice. It offers insight into what she may have know or not known of the abuse suffered by her daughter at the hand of her husband but also into the abuse she herself suffered. It is a story that raises many emotions, another testament to the quality of the writing. A definite recommend!
(reviewed 10 days after purchase)

Print Edition

Report this book