Book One of Fate Laughs

Fate Laughs is a study of what happens when the hate, bigotry and racism that a person puts out into the universe comes back to them with a vengeance.

Book One is told from the perspective of Wanda Whitaker, the 15-year-old daughter, who is about to have the credibility of everything she believes to be true, brought into question. She will learn firsthand what it feels like when Fate Laughs. More
Download: epub mobi (Kindle) pdf more Online Reader
About Janus Kane

Marchbooks is a small publishing company located in Tennessee. We strive to offer books that are fun, interesting and thought provoking. We currently have two authors: Janus Kane who writes for adults and M.J. Claire who writes for tweens and young adults.

Janus Kane makes his primary residence in New York City. Would-be lawyer, sales rep for a multi-line distributor, telemarketer, bartender and Kirby vacuum cleaner salesman are a few of the career paths that Kane has followed. Interesting as they were, they were all dead ends.

Ultimately, fate put a pen in his hand. His first novel, 'The Little Insanity' was the result. It is a novel that shines a spotlight on the complexities of relationships and addictions. With the fast pace of a literary soap opera this first novel will be sure to please readers who follow these characters on their path of self-discovery or destruction.

The 'Fate Laughs' series is another foray into the lives of a very dysfunctional group of people. This southern family is ruled by an authoritarian husband/father and his philosophy of hate. This toxic environment blows up in their faces in very short order, leaving the children to pick up the pieces. When Janus wrote this novel, we feared that it might be too 'out there', too far fetched, given the themes of bigotry and white supremacy. Unfortunately, we were all to be proven wrong as each day shows us more examples of this kind hatred in our current world.

M.J. Claire is a quiet, middle-aged woman who has always had a passion for books, adventure, magic, fantasy and animals. You will find that most of her stories embody at least some of those themes.


Learn more about Janus Kane
About the Series: Fate Laughs, The Series
Fate Laughs is a study of the oftentimes tragic lives of six individuals. Each book is told from the perspective of a different person as their lives become inexorably intertwined. The story begins with Book One, told from the perspective of Wanda, a teenager who learns some harsh truths about her white supremacist father's hate filled ways. Book Two is told from Shooter's perspective, the son whose three fingers were not the only casualty of their father's intense hatred. Book Three takes you back in time to try to discern what it was about Jim Whitaker that made him so angry and filled with hate that he would hurt those nearest and dearest to him. In Book Four, we learn how Calub, a young black boy, has a connection to Jim Whitaker that binds them in a deadly dance which only one of them will survive. Book Five gives us the perspective of Amelia, a teenage transplant from the city who is both Wanda's nemesis and Shooter's friend. Book Six is told from Betty Whitaker's perspective, it has the luxury of being a more complete overview because it has the benefit of being told from beyond the grave.

Also in Series: Fate Laughs, The Series

Also by This Author


This book has not yet been reviewed.
Report this book