The WAG and The Scoundrel

Rated 4.00/5 based on 1 review
Three years after his partner's death, Gray Fisher is ready to move on from police work. He's not looking for love, but he welcomes Will's friendship. Will Richards is an investment banker with a farmhouse menagerie of rescue animals. When former colleague, Rob Simpson-Stone, asks for Gray's help with case, he's reluctant to get involved...until Rob reveals the identity of one of the suspects. More
Available ebook formats: epub mobi pdf lrf pdb txt html
First 20% Sample: lrf pdb Online Reader
About Debbie McGowan

Debbie McGowan is an award-winning author of contemporary fiction that celebrates life, love and relationships in all their diversity. Since the publication in 2004 of her debut novel, Champagne—based on a stage show co-written and co-produced with her husband—she has published many further works—novels, short stories and novellas—including two ongoing series: Hiding Behind The Couch (a literary ‘soap opera’ centring on the lives of nine long-term friends) and Checking Him Out (LGBTQ romance). Debbie has been a finalist in both the Rainbow Awards and the Bisexual Book Awards, and in 2016, she won the Lambda Literary Award (Lammy) for her novel, When Skies Have Fallen: a British historical romance spanning twenty-three years, from the end of WWII to the decriminalisation of homosexuality in 1967. Through her independent publishing company, Debbie gives voices to other authors whose work would be deemed unprofitable by mainstream publishing houses.

Read Debbie McGowan's Smashwords Interview
Learn more about Debbie McGowan
About the Series: Gray Fisher
Series of novels and stories featuring ex-DCI Gray Fisher, Rob Simpson-Stone, Will Richards and Naomi Silvestri.

A spin-off of the Hiding Behind The Couch series.

Also in Series: Gray Fisher

About the Series: Hiding Behind The Couch
The story of The Circle...

Nine friends from high school,

Nine friends for life.

Hiding Behind The Couch is an ongoing series of stories, written by Debbie McGowan.

The series is based in a fictional location in the north-west of England.

Also in Series: Hiding Behind The Couch

Also by This Author

Also by This Publisher

Reviews of The WAG and The Scoundrel by Debbie McGowan

Audrey Driscoll reviewed on May 27, 2019

The first few chapters of this book was like being at a party where I didn't know anybody and everyone else there were best friends from way back. Once I didn't have to figure out where every new character fit in relation to the rest, the story was easier to follow. Even so, the murder at the start of the book seemed secondary to the personal relationships, family situations, and past histories of the three main characters, Gray, Will, and Rob. These individuals are real, distinctive, and interesting, as they bob and weave around each other. I wouldn't call this book a mystery, and not really a romance either. What kept me reading was the question of how the characters' relationships would develop and who they would end up with at the end. I can't say I was disappointed, even though the big crisis scene was a bit lame. I wouldn't recommend this book to lovers of whodunits, but it may engage readers who enjoy character development.
(reviewed 5 months after purchase)
Report this book