A Nation of Mystics? Book Three: Journeys

In this final book of Pamela Johnson’s epic trilogy on the 1960s, Book 3: Journeys, ties together the important threads of America’s counterculture beliefs into a single knot, the ideas and actions of a generation poised on the threshold of a new decade, ready to stand the test of time. More

Available ebook formats: epub

About Pamela Johnson

PAMELA JOHNSON was born in New Orleans, Louisiana, and migrated to Berkeley, California, in 1966. A Phi Beta Kappa graduate of UC Berkeley in anthropology, she went on to earn master’s degrees in education at Mills College and in English at Holy Names University, both in Oakland, California. She is the author of Heart of a Pirate/ A Novel of Anne Bonny and the A Nation of Mystics trilogy. A former teacher and university professor, she is actively involved in social and environmental issues and views her writing as an extension of her politics. She is married and currently divides her time between a ranch in the Sierra foothills of California and Ocho Rios, Jamaica.

About the Series: A Nation of Mystics
In A Nation of Mystics, author Pamela Johnson deftly explores the youth subculture in San Francisco and Berkeley in the1960s, with all its initial goodwill and naiveté—its dedication to free speech, promise to end war, commitment to racial equality, new art and music, and the exploration of spirituality. In this epic story of intimacy, metaphysical growth, and coming of age, the Haight-Ashbury becomes home to genuine and unforgettable characters. Spanning the years 1965-1970, the trilogy transports readers to places in the United States, Mexico and South America, and to Afghanistan and India. Although set in the 1960s, A Nation of Mystics is strikingly relevant, addressing conflicts between political idealism and the old order, the true meaning of religion, elements in the development of culture, violent police overreach, and the beginning of America's War on Drugs.

Also in Series: A Nation of Mystics

Also by This Author


This book has not yet been reviewed.
Report this book