Murder on Murderer's Row

Murder on Murderer's Row opens with the killing of a groundskeeper at Yankee Stadium in 1927 with the prime suspect none other than Babe Ruth. Detective Mike Fargo is called into action as an increasingly complex story begins to unravel. The cast includes a major crime boss, a special prosecutor, corrupt cops, the Babe himself and the bustling New York City of 1927, with Fargo smack in the middle More

Available ebook formats: epub mobi pdf lrf pdb txt html

First 20% Sample: epub mobi (Kindle) lrf more Online Reader
About Bill Gutman

Bill Gutman has been writing for more than four decades. His writing life has seen him publish some 200 books for both children and adults, fiction and non-fiction alike. He has written many biographies and sports histories, as well as ghosting a family memoir. His biographies include such diverse personalities as Michael Jordan, Magic Johnson, football coach Bill Parcells, Venus and Serena Williams, jazz great Duke Ellington and former president Andrew Jackson. He has worked with sports figures Kevin Kennedy, Pepper Johnson and Bobby Thomson on as-told-to books, and co-authored a series of sports books for young girls with current Good Morning America co-host Robin Roberts. And he has interviewed countless athletes, musicians and others.

Mr. Gutman's current passion is a series of novels and novellas featuring a tough detective working in 1920's New York City. The Mike Fargo Mysteries bring to life a wild period sparked by Prohibition, which banned the trafficking and sale of alcoholic beverages. But it was also a time when sports flourished, as did Broadway shows, jazz music and the movies. The popular culture dictated that women no longer had to stay at home and the flapper was born, a new age woman who smoked and drank, partied, and danced the Charleston, Black Bottom and the Shimmy. It was the era of hip flasks and speakeasies, and also organized crime. Mike Fargo navigates the City not only chasing murderers and crime bosses, but interacting with real characters such as Babe Ruth, Texas Guinan, Mae West, Mayor Jimmy Walker and others.

There are six books in the Mike Fargo series thus far – the novel Murder on Murderer's Row and novellas Death of a Flapper, Murder on Broadway and Seven Days to Murder, A Mike Fargo Trilogy that includes the three novellas, and Roaring Twenties Cop, Mike Fargo's Own Story.

About the Series: The Mike Fargo Mysteries
There are already six books in The Mike Fargo Mysteries series, a novel, three novellas, a trilogy combining the three novellas, and a short autobiography written by the protagonist, Mike Fargo. He is a tough detective working in 1920s New York City during the days of Prohibition, speakeasies, flappers, Broadway musicals and, of course, organized crime.

Also in Series: The Mike Fargo Mysteries


This book has not yet been reviewed.
Report this book