From A Blood-Red Sea: The Last Voyage of Daniel Collins

Rated 5.00/5 based on 1 reviews
The true survival story of a US sailor who, in 1824, was shipwrecked in shark-infested waters, brutally attacked by pirates, and forced to endure an epic journey across land and sea in a desperate effort to escape from the pirates, to reach civilization, and to find a way home. For fans of "The Revenant" and "In the Heart of the Sea". More

Available ebook formats: epub html

First 20% Sample: epub Online Reader
Words: 14,460
Language: English
ISBN: 9781370747252
About Paul Brown

Paul Brown is a freelance journalist and author from the North East of England.

Reviews

Review by: SDaisy on Dec. 04, 2017 :
This is a very short nonfiction historical ebook taking place in the years 1824-1825, and the places traveled in the story range from Maine to Cuba with a lot of ocean and islands in between.

This ebook was about a man named Daniel Collins, and chronicles his experiences as he survives one harrowing ordeal after the other, living by faith in God alone. A seaman, he is one of only a handful of survivors who escaped from a sinking ship. After days at sea with no supply of food or water, they finally come across an inhabited island... which turns out to be a pirate hideout. The pirates don't have any use for them, and judging by the headless corpses littering the waters of the cove, they don't take kindly to strangers. When the pirates set upon them with obvious intent, Collins escapes... presumably the only member of the crew to do so. He then undergoes a death-defying journey, his only goal being to find a way to get back home to his family. Trodding barefoot through mosquito-filled jungles, swimming miles from one tiny island to the next through shark and crocodile infested waters, evading pirates, being laid upon by robbers who take what little he has left, this is the ultimate survival adventure... and it is completely true.

I thought that this book was well researched and well written, and I enjoyed it immensely. I can't wait to read more by this fantastic author. Five stars!
(reviewed 20 days after purchase)

Report this book