Jack of All Trades Books 1-4

The first four in the Jack of All Trades crime series, comprising:

Jack of All Trades
Jack of Spades
Jack o’Lantern
Jack by the Hedge

Jack Bell, a builder, finds murder at his various work sites. In the books, along with a little romantic entanglement, he variously solves the crime, is involved in the crime, or is close to becoming another corpse.

Available ebook formats: epub

About DH Smith

I write as DH Smith and Derek Smith. DH Smith is my pen name for the Jack of All Trades crime series featuring builder, Jack Bell. The first is Jack of All Trades. Jack lives in the Eastend of London, where I live, and makes a precarious living. On each job there’s at least one murder. Jack is variously a sleuth, a suspect and gets too close to being a victim. He’s always short of cash, a failed marriage behind him, and hopefully his alcoholic days. In each book there’s a romantic element as Jack is ever hopeful. He has a daughter, Mia who is ten years old in the first book.

I have been writing for over 30 years, beginning with plays. I had them performed on radio, TV and theatre. After working in a community bookshop I began to write children's books as Derek Smith. Hard Cash, a young adult novel, was read on BBC radio, Frances Fairweather Demon Striker! was shortlisted for the Children's Book Award, both published by Faber. The Good Wolf won the David Thomas Prize.

These days, I am concentrating on my Jack of All Trades crime series.

Learn more about DH Smith

Also by This Author


This book has not yet been reviewed.
Report this book