The Lilac Years

Kevin J. O'Conner's eleventh collection of poems explores the venerable themes of love and loss, the difficulties of living with isolation and depression, the little moments of life, the images and thoughts that art brings to the surface, and musings about poetry itself. More
Available ebook formats: epub mobi
First 20% Sample: epub mobi (Kindle)
About Kevin J. O'Conner

Kevin J. O’Conner is not your typical poet.

After 30 years of writing only sporadically, Kevin J. O’Conner returned to poetry in 2013—first as a creative exercise, then for the therapeutic benefits. Since 2015, he writes every day, exploring the craft of poetry through monthly writing challenges—‘my ongoing effort to write something that doesn’t sound like something I would write’, he says. Kevin’s poems explore isolation, memory, life’s small moments, and the experience of starting over at ‘a certain age’—always with an emphasis on straightforward expression.

To date, Kevin has published eleven poetry collections, the latest of which is WISHES SOMETIMES HAVE CONSEQUENCES (available only in print so far). His poems have also appeared in Raven Chronicles, Spindrift, The CDC Poetry Project, Lament for the Dead, and three editions of THE POETRY MARATHON ANTHOLOGY, the anthology VOICES THAT MATTER, and as part of the Clay? VI (2016) exhibit at Kirkland Arts Center.

In the midst of the pandemic, when not writing poetry, Kevin can be found copy-editing documents from far-flung places, attending the occasional online open-mic reading, catching up on favorite movies, and contemplating variations on his personal menu so that he doesn't get tired of the things he likes to cook. He lives in Bellingham.

(updated 19 December 2020)

Read Kevin J. O'Conner's Smashwords Interview
Learn more about Kevin J. O'Conner

Also by This Author

Reviews of The Lilac Years by Kevin J. O'Conner

This book has not yet been reviewed.
Report this book