The Silurian, Book 2: Arthur's Army

Rated 5.00/5 based on 4 reviews
Here begins Arthur’s brilliant and annihilating South Saxon campaign; where he destroys the Saxons of the south coast weald in battle after battle. Yet does he push his cousin, Medraut, too far? Traitors begin to arise from within the ranks of his army as he takes his warriors to the limits of their endurance. More

Available formats: epub mobi pdf rtf lrf pdb txt html

First 20% Sample: epub mobi (Kindle) lrf more Online Reader
Words: 217,640
Language: English
ISBN: 9781452309033
About L.A. Wilson

L.A. Wilson:
independent author of 'The Silurian' series. 7 Books (book 8 and the final of the series is still a work in progress).
That Challenges the conventional Arthurian genre novel.
Imaginative creative writer, Iconoclastic, ever seeking to break the mold of mass produced and formulaic novel construction.
The FINAL book of The Silurian series, Last Man to Avalon, will be Book 8, and is still a work in progress, hopefully to arrive here sometime in 2016. - for more info.

Also in The Silurian


Review by: Mary Josefina Cade on Nov. 24, 2014 :
Love, battle and death. Words of power that are fully realised in ‘Arthur’s Army’, book two of L.A. Wilson’s astonishing Arthurian series, ‘The Silurian.’

‘I wondered how the quiet of the day, beautiful and sun-drenched as it was, could be so shattered by the violent death that was to come. Away northward, hills bathed in sunlight.’

Bedwyr, Arthur’s greatest warrior, voices the heroic, tragic, passionate story of Arthur and the warriors of the Clan Bear. The reader goes with him into battle, fighting for survival and living through the pity and disgust of it all. We learn what it means to kill so that others can live in peace. A potent theme, with universal and ongoing significance.

L.A. Wilson is a rare talent, a poetic writer who creates accessible books that, for me, are compulsive reading. The words used are simple but made into potent sentences that fly as accurately as Bedwyr’s javelin, right on target, taking us to the troubled heart of 5th century Britain.

In this book Arthur fully forms and organises the Clan Bear. How I wish I could join! Camelot. Another word of power for me, from my earliest memories, here convincingly recreated as Caer Cadwy. Home, as Arthur calls it. Arthur, unloved and abused as a child has created his own family and special place.

Arthur and Bedwyr never forget to joke and laugh and there are moments of extreme happiness in ‘Arthur’s Army’. Arthur’s wedding is ecstatic. I’m not revealing the name of his bride but Bedwyr describes her, seated on a horse after the wedding. ‘She looked up at the sky and gave out a cry of delight and flung out her arms and laughed, while over me I saw a bird with outstretched wings soaring into the heights, up and into the clouds that burned under the sun.’

Events in the Black Mountains, at the villa in Siluria are also incredible. I cannot describe what happens as I don’t want to plot spoil, but what amazing images! This is visual writing, intense, haunting and mysterious. Arthur’s cousin Morganna shares something of his dark glamour and with her, as throughout the book, LA Wilson references Arthurian myths but makes them real. Brilliant.

Where there is power, traitors lurk. Not everyone is happy to accept Arthur’s rule. Trouble comes and so this endlessly fascinating story continues. As for the narrator, Bedwyr, the Fox, I find him irresistible and I can only quote Arthur. ‘I am going to love you, Fox. Long and hard and forever.’

I’m just so glad that this series has seven books, with another one on the way
(reviewed long after purchase)

Review by: Relle on Dec. 26, 2012 : (no rating)
Well written, modern twist on an ancient tale.Author has tried to interpret ancient mores in the light of modern psychology with some interesting results.
(reviewed within a month of purchase)

Review by: kohaver on May 17, 2011 :
This series of books is one of the better renditions of the Arthurian Legend I have read. If you are looking for a Camelot fairytale, look elsewhere. However, if you are looking for a narrative that places you in the middle of post-Roman Briton, with convincing characters and exciting battle scenes and situations, I can highly recommend this series. I found it hard to put down once I started reading. There are currently 9 books in the series with the 10th, and final volume, due for release later this year.

A good synopsis of "The Silurian" can be found at this link:
(review of free book)

Review by: Eon D on April 18, 2011 :
I was a fool not to prepare my heart before reading this book. The battles were so powerful, so exhilarating. I could feel Arthur's power and supremacy. There was this time when my friend had to slap me to get my attention because I couldn't get my eyes off the book. The love story between the fox and the bear showed me that there's so much more to learn when it comes to love. It left me hungry for more. This series gives a high level of realism and the emotions are so true. I admire L.A. Wilson for creating such amazing books. 10 stars for this.
(review of free book)

Print Edition

Report this book