Unzipped: The Mind of a Madman

Dare you look inside the mind of a madman?

A collection of short-stories, poems, reviews and other writings from the author of Access Denied, The Roots of Evil, The Wretched and First Words.
Available ebook formats: epub mobi pdf lrf pdb txt html
First 20% Sample: epub mobi (Kindle) lrf more Online Reader
About David E. Gates

Biography - David E. Gates.

David E. Gates has published a number of books and short-stories.

The Roots of Evil, his first horror novel, was voted "best to read" on the Novel Festival site in September 2017!

He previously won the SILVER prize in the AuthorsDB 2016 Cover Contest for The Ghost of Clothes and won best HORROR Novel Logline for 2016 for The Roots of Evil.

He has previously won first prize (Gold) for The Roots of Evil and third prize (Bronze) for Access Denied in the 2015 AuthorsDB Cover Contest, and has made a film about the battlefield memorials in Ypres, Belgium called Ypres – The Battlefield Tours (available at www.shelleyshow.co.uk).

David has previously written film reviews for Starburst and Samhain magazines and interviewed the likes of Clive Barker, Terry Pratchett, James Herbert and many others. He has also written a number of short stories, a full-length motion picture screenplay, the screenplay to a short film and in his spare time hosts a rock radio show.

“The self-publishing phenomenon enabled me to publish my first book, Access Denied, at the end of 2013. It’s a true story. A deeply personal and heart-wrenching account of my becoming a father and then finding out several years later that my daughter wasn’t mine.”

David’s story and the effect this had on him, his family and loved ones is moving and tragic and is already getting great feedback.

With 100% positive reviews Access Denied is, as one reader put it, “A well told, quite extraordinary true story that stays with you. A must read for both men and women alike.”

Access Denied is available in Audiobook, Kindle and Paperback formats.

“Since then, I’ve published my first horror novel, The Roots of Evil - a graphic, violent, intense and gore-laden horror story. Quite different from my first book.”

An original short-story, a branch “off” of The Roots of Evil trilogy, called The Ghost of Clothes is available from online bookstores and at www.davidegates.com.

David previously won a competition to write the second part of a short horror story, called Savages. The first and last parts were written by the famous horror writer Shaun Hutson and are hosted on Shaun’s website. David is also working on two sequels to his first horror novel.

“In July 2015, I published a selection of travelogues called Omonolidee (I’m on Holiday). It’s a unique, funny and (very) candid collection of my experiences when I travelled to Florida, Egypt, Tenerife and other places.”

David’s third book, Omonolidee (I’m on Holiday) – has received great reviews. Omonolidee (I’m on Holiday) is available in three different versions, Full Colour Illustrated from www.davidegates.com and Black and White Illustrated & Text-Only versions via Amazon.

“Back in October 2014, my poem, Remembrance, inspired by the thoughts I had during the 100th year anniversary of the start of World War I, was read aloud in front of an audience at the Museum of the Royal Navy. The video of this was subsequently displayed on the big screen in the Guildhall Square. I was invited to read it again in front of a specially-invited audience later in the year. The film I made in 2011, Ypres – The Battlefields Tours, was also selected for screening at a film festival in Portsmouth and my World War I poems are on display at the World War I Remembrance Centre at Fort Widley on Portsdown Hill near Portsmouth.”

“I’m currently working on a full-length novel called The Climbing Frame, publishing a movie script, producing a short film, developing and writing the sequels to The Roots of Evil and I am putting together another collection of short stories and poems.”

The Roots of Evil wins best HORROR Novel Logline for 2016.

The Ghost of Clothes wins SILVER – 2nd Prize in the AuthorsDB.com 2016 Cover Contest!

The Roots of Evil wins GOLD - 1st Prize, in the AuthorsDB.com 2015 Cover Contest!

Access Denied received 3rd Prize, Bronze, in the AuthorsDB.com 2015 Cover Contest!

The Wretched, an original horror story set in and around Portsmouth, was released in November 2016.

Follow the author’s blog at www.davidegates.com

Learn more about David E. Gates

Also by This Author

Reviews of Unzipped: The Mind of a Madman by David E. Gates

This book has not yet been reviewed.
Report this book