Harsh Lessons

Leeth’s visceral magic took everyone by surprise. Now she and her abusive guardian have been pushed into a covert government agency where she is to become their assassin.
Singularly ill-equipped to deal with the challenges of a normal life, she’s sent ‘back’ to school – unaware she’s being hunted by a magic-negating killer.
Leeth has some harsh lessons to learn.

She'd better learn fast. More

Available ebook formats: epub

About L. J. Kendall

Luke J. Kendall failed to drown on five separate occasions on Sydney’s northern beaches. For 30 years he worked in the IT R&D field, very happily married to an adventurous mediaeval scholar 22 years his senior, until her death in December 2014.
He likes really long form fiction – like Jim Butcher’s Dresden Files, or C. E. Murphy’s urban shaman series. His own, The Leeth Dossier, is set in our world in a ‘mixtopian’ near future a few decades after magic’s return. Character-driven by its female lead – who is innocent, loyal, and deadly – it blends hard science with fantasy, psychological horror, humour, and action. He has self-published Wild Thing (2015), Harsh Lessons (2016), Shadow Hunt (2017), and Violent Causes (2019), and is working on Lost Girl (2020?).

Learn more about L. J. Kendall
About the Series: The Leeth Dossier
The Leeth Dossier is a cross-genre, hard sci-fi/fantasy series. It’s set in our world in the near future, but a few decades after magic has mysteriously started working again. Character-driven with a strong female lead, it mixes action, adventure, psychological thrills, personal growth, and humor.

The main character, Leeth, is both innocent and deadly, having been raised by Dr Alex Harmon at the Institute for Paranormal Dysfunction. She is the unknowing guinea pig he’s using to test his theory of how magic can be forced to develop in an individual.

Leeth and Harmon clash strongly, and under his amoral guidance things don’t go as planned. Both are drawn in to work for a US government black-ops department, where Leeth trains happily to become their assassin while facing threats large and small.

Each book is complete in itself, although given Harmon’s abusive upbringing and the array of threats evolving in the background, she’ll be facing a lot of personal development and danger.

There will be an estimated ten books needed to complete Leeth’s saga.

Also in Series: The Leeth Dossier


This book has not yet been reviewed.

Print Edition

Report this book