A Drowning World

Rated 5.00/5 based on 1 reviews
A Drowning World is the first book in the Siren series, and the second novel from author S.R. Ruark. Known for her vivid manner of storytelling, Ruark never disappoints. More
Available ebook formats: epub mobi pdf lrf pdb txt html
First 10% Sample: mobi (Kindle) lrf pdb Online Reader
About S.R. Ruark

An SCA enthusiast with a wide range of friends and interest including but not limited to fencing, dancing, cooking and reading anything not being sat on by a cat.

Read S.R. Ruark's Smashwords Interview
Learn more about S.R. Ruark

Also by This Author


Trish SchaMont reviewed on Jan. 21, 2021

I've been itching to buy this book since I helped edit the manuscript five years ago. I still dream about this book! I am beyond excited to finally get to own it.

As for the story itself, it has a wonderfully written do or die main story acted out by a stranded scientist and her daughter on a world with a rainy season that literally covers the majority of its surface with a deep vast sea. A tourist destination for the ultra wealthy and a world of wonder for scientists during the dry season, all must leave when the rains start. Betrayed and abandoned, mother and daughter must race against time, the elements, and the indigenous animals fleeing the rising water to survive. The top suite of the tallest luxury hotel on the planet may end up being just a gilded tomb if they can't figure out a way to feed themselves for the months to come.

And while that nail biting drama is going on, there is a giant space war going on in the background that encompasses monsters, demons, aliens, magic, zombies, shape changers, time travelers, reincarnation, prophecies, and hard science. There are also those hiding from the God dynasties who are making moves in the war like they are playing a giant game of four dimensional chess. Honestly, it's all brilliantly handled.

No, really! I highly recommend this book. If you liked reading "Battlefield Earth", the Web Shifters series, the Species Imperative series, "A Mote in God's Eye", the Snow Queen Cycle series, "Golden Witch Breed", etc. you'll love this book and author.
(reviewed the day of purchase)
Report this book