Best Laid Plans

The reavers are swarming and this time their prey is the supreme ruler of the Templum, the Ipsissimus himself.

With Shader dead and his piece of the Statue of Eingana in the hands of Shadrak the Unseen, the threat of the Unweaving of all Creation is one step nearer.

Best Laid Plans is the second book of the epic Shader series.

"Shader is an absolute triumph of fantasy." (Journal of Always) More

Available ebook formats: epub mobi pdf lrf pdb html

First 5% Sample: mobi (Kindle) lrf pdb Online Reader
About D.P. Prior

D.P. Prior is represented by Laurie McLean, Fuse Literary (

You can find all the books along with artwork, audiobook samples, and posts at:

His main writing influences are Edgar Rice-Burroughs, David Gemmell, Stephen Donaldson, Mary Doria Russell, Robert E. Howard, and Michael Moorcock. His work is also infused with his passion for mystical theology, philosophy and a childhood love of Dungeons and Dragons.

Please check out his latest series, LEGENDS OF THE NAMELESS DWARF:


Other works to date -

Black Death (unpublished) - an absurd comedy for the theatre
Megan (Homunculus 1995) - a play in three acts
Megan (completely revised; unpublished) - a play in three acts
The Resurrection of Deacon Shader (Homunculus 2009)
Foundations for a Better Physique (Homunculus 2009)
The F.I.S.H. Training Log (Homunculus 2009)
Nutritional Journal (Homunculus 2010)

Thanatos Rising (Homunculus 2009)

Chronicles of the Nameless Dwarf:

1. A Dwarf With No Name (Homunculus 2010)
2. The Axe of the Dwarf Lords (Homunculus 2012)
3. The Scout and the Serpent (Homunculus 2012)
4. The Ebon Staff (Homunculus 2013)
5. Bane of the Liche Lord (Homunculus 2013)

The Nameless Dwarf Omnibus (Homunculus 2012)
The Nameless Dwarf: The Complete Chronicles (Homunculus 2013)

Shader book 1: Sword of the Archon (Homunculus 2011)
Shader book 2: Best Laid Plans (Homunculus 2011)
Shader book 3: The Unweaving (Homunculus 2014)

Husk (Homunculus 2014)


The Shader Series book trailer
The evolution of the Shader series.

About the Series: Shader
"Love and bloodlust are impossible bedfellows; one only can reign, else all the worlds will end."

The epic saga of Deacon Shader and the battle to prevent the unweaving of all things.

"... an epic fantasy across three books that is wild, fast-paced, has fantastic characters, spreads across countries as well as worlds and religions, and is absolutely one of the best fantasy trilogies in existence." -- Melinda LeBaron

"D.P.Prior has quickly established himself as one of the strongest talents to have emerged in the fantasy fiction field in recent years." -- Laurence S.

"The "Shader" series brings world-building to a new level." -- Fandi

"This is a world full of magic and fantasy, hyper-religiosity and backwardness, evil and brutality, loyalty and treachery, and unflinching heroism in the form of the extraordinary hero, Deacon Shader, a ferocious warrior forced to be a man of religion because of circumstances, gruff, stiff, unfriendly – yet noble, loyal and kind." -- Ranger

Also in Series: Shader

Also by This Author

Readers of This Book Also Read


This book has not yet been reviewed.
Report this book