Murmurs: Gathered Stories Vol. One

Rated 3.50/5 based on 2 reviews
Murmurs: Gathered Stories Vol. One brings together nine previously published stories hand selected to best represent the darkness prevalent in much of Caleb J. Ross’ fiction. Deformities, parenthood, childhood, each treated with literary integrity, come together to map the visceral, gut-wrenching side of family life. More

Available ebook formats: epub mobi pdf rtf lrf pdb txt html

First 20% Sample: epub mobi (Kindle) lrf more Online Reader
About Caleb J. Ross

Caleb began writing his sophomore year of undergrad study when, tired of the formal art education then being taught, he abandoned the pursuit in the middle of a compositional drawing class. Major-less and fearful of losing his financial aid, he signed up to seek a degree in English Literature for no other reason than his lengthy history with the language. Coincidentally, this decision not only introduced him to writing but to reading as well. Prior this transition he had read three books. One of which he understood.

His fiction and nonfiction has appeared widely, both online and in print. He is the author of Charactered Pieces: stories (OW Press), Stranger Will: a novel (Otherworld Publications, 2011), I Didn’t Mean to Be Kevin: a novel (Black Coffee Press, 2011), and As a Machine and Parts (Aqueous books, 20–). He is an editor at Outsider Writers Collective and moderates The Velvet Podcast, which gathers writers for round table discussions on literature.

Also by This Author

Also by This Publisher


Review by: Cathleen Grey on April 25, 2012 :
This book was a surprise to me. The stories were dark and twisted. Though I normally do not read stories of this nature, I enjoyed reading these. The author has such a way with words and sentence structure that I felt drawn into the stories. The base emotions brought to life throughout this book are very compelling.

I salute you as a writer.
(reviewed 22 days after purchase)
Review by: Frank Edler on March 28, 2012 :
MURMURS is the perfect title of Caleb J. Ross' story collection. These are fairly short bursts of that unique domestic fiction that Ross not only has a penchant for writing but also executes to a level that could earn him the moniker of 'Father of Domestic Fiction'. If another writer tells stories quite like this, I do know know of him or her. Please pardon my ignorance if I am wrong.

The stories do indeed echo the sentiment of the book's title. Quick little tales, murmurs, troubling little yarns each with a disturbing little look at relationships. Relationships observed from different perspectives and emotions toyed with in the mind of Ross like a kitten batting at a feather on a stick. While these are not dismal views, the glimmers of hope can only be found by digging deep through the muck. Happiness will not be served on a silver platter.

Once again I walk away from another of Caleb Ross' work with an uneasy feeling. When everything looks like it's going to be alright that's when you need to look again. The author is brilliant at looking at a tender moment and peeling away the layers to reveal the disturbing grotesque. We connect with it because under all our facades lies a bit of that same ugliness to some degree or another.

The completion of this book represents all the short story collections Caleb Ross currently has published. I must now venture forth into his longer works, STRANGER WILL and I DIDN'T MEAN TO BE KEVIN. Both continue to play in the world of familial relationships. I can not wait to have my emotions unsettled a little bit more.
(reviewed 71 days after purchase)
Report this book