Email this sample to a friend

Spinning Kick’s Guide to Taegeuk Il Jang

By Spinning Kick

Smashwords Edition

Copyright 2013 By Spinning Kick

This eBook is licensed for your personal enjoyment only. This eBook may not be re-sold or given away to other people. If you would like to share this book with another person, please purchase an additional copy for each recipient. If you’re reading this book and did not purchase it, or it was not purchased for your use only, then please return to and purchase your own copy. Thank you for respecting the hard work of this author.

Spinning Kick’s Guide to Taegeuk Il Jang

This book is a reference source for home practice; however when practicing something new you should seek an instructor’s guidance and should be practicing under their supervision.

This e-book will go through Taegeuk Il Jang move by move using large stickman pictures. This pattern is the first Taegeuk patterns that beginners will learn and this can be quite daunting for beginners as there are many moves in the pattern. However this guide will look at each move separately to help you better understand the pattern.

Introduction to Taegeuk Patterns

Within the World Taekwondo Federation there are 8 patterns that a beginner learns to achieve their black belt. These patterns are different to the patterns in other styles of Taekwondo such as ITF.

As a beginner progresses through the grades of Taekwondo they should generally learn a new pattern at each grade after 8th kup. These 8 kup grade patterns are referred to as the 'Taegeuk' patterns. Taegeuk refers to the circle on the flag of South Korea and is often taken to mean eternity and represent unity.

When performing patterns it is important to practice them slowly at first and move steadily throughout the form. Although patterns can seem long and difficult to learn at first breaking them down into smaller sections can often help a beginner to learn the basics of poomse.

Previous Page Next Page Page 1 of 5