Interview with AS Bond

Do you remember the first story you ever wrote?
Depends what you mean by a story! As soon as I could read and write I started to make up little pieces that today would be called 'flash fiction', usually about the natural world around me. The first, more focused, long form piece of writing I started was when I was around age 7. I'd read just about everything Enid Blyton had written (the Famous Five series being a favourite) and I started to write my own adventure story for kids. It was supposed to be a full length novel, but I think I got to around chapter 3....I started another novel at age 8, which was, bizarrely, about a canoeing expedition in Canada. This was a topic I later went on to write a book about as an adult, following my own canoe expedition in Canada. The book was a travel memoir published by HarperCollins, called 'Lost Lands, Forgotten Stories'.
What I've come to notice is that so much of who we are as adults is either already there as very young children, or formed at that age. We all try out lots of different things/ideas/routes as teenagers and then by mid-20's, we seem to end up being the person we started out as....
What is your writing process?
When it comes to writing fiction, such as my new thriller 'Patriot', I have a fairly set process. First, I decide on the style (action thriller being a favourite), the location, main protagonist. Then I start to work on the overall plot. What's the story about? I tend to thrash all this out with my husband, who is vital to all my fiction plotting. When I think I have a reasonable outline, I try to break it down into chapter outlines. Once I'm reasonably happy with those, I begin to write. Not necessarily at the beginning. If I have a very clear idea of a particular 'scene' from the book, that's where I start. I find that tends to set the tone for me. I can't write any chapter unless I can see it playing out like a movie in my head first.
How do you approach cover design?
I usually have a good idea of the style. Then I go to a really good designer. The cover for 'Patriot' was designed by ebooklaunch.com and I love it.
What are your five favorite books, and why?
Impossible! aaah! Just five?
OK..anything by Robert Goddard - the king of mystery plotting.
The Curve of Time by M Wylie Blanchet - so beautiful, so moving and set in one of my favorite parts of the world; BC.
McCarthy's Bar by Pete McCarthy - so funny. And we went to different 'halves' of what is now the same school (many years apart!).
The Wild Places by Robert McFarlane - clever and beautiful.
Swallows and Amazons by Arthur Ransome - an early addiction to adventure showing through there!

I also want to mention John Grisham, Bernard Cornwell, Clive Cussler, Nick Hazlewood....
What do you read for pleasure?
Depends on my mood. It might be an old favourite, but often it's a thriller/mystery/action adventure of some kind.
Describe your desk
Glass. Annoyingly covered in cat fur.
What motivated you to become an indie author?
My first book was published when I was 24 and since then, I've written several books for small publishers, specialist publishers and even global publishers. The first time it was exciting. Yet, after I'd 'been around the block' a few times, I began to want more control over my own work and, of course, a larger slice of the profits. I love self publishing. Doing it properly - that is, as thoroughly as any publisher - takes a great deal of hard work, but I find I enjoy it. I'm also not afraid to bring in professionals to do the things I can't do or don't want to do, such as cover design, formatting, copy editing and publicity. My job is to write the book and then project manage it's route into the world.
What is the greatest joy of writing for you?
It's a compulsion. I see the world in terms of how I would write each scene.
What do your fans mean to you?
It's wonderful when people say how much they enjoyed something I wrote!
What are you working on next?
Brooke Kinley's next adventure, of course! She's not done saving the world just yet....
When you're not writing, how do you spend your time?
Reading. Apart from that? Well, I have a border collie who demands constant exercise. I also like adventure travel, getting involved in 'citizen science' as well as going to the theater, concerts etc. I love 'discovering' new things or people, whether it's a performance poet in a room above a pub, or a new type of music. I'll trek across the city to hear an obscure jazz trumpeter, or reorganize my schedule to fit in a reading from an interesting writer or up and coming comedian.
Published 2014-04-02.
Smashwords Interviews are created by the profiled author, publisher or reader.

Books by This Author

Heroine (A Brooke Kinley Adventures Novella)
Series: Brooke Kinley Adventures. Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 31,940. Language: English. Published: April 15, 2016. Categories: Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Action & suspense, Fiction » Adventure » General
While paddling in their canoe in northern Minnesota, Brooke and her brother rescue a trafficked Russian child. But will the price of Brooke's heroism be her own life? This short prequel to the "mind-blowing" bestseller PATRIOT introduces investigative reporter Brooke Kinley in an action-packed novella that will appeal to anyone who enjoys adventure, mystery, thrillers or crime.
PATRIOT (A Brooke Kinley Adventure)
Series: Brooke Kinley Adventures. Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 83,910. Language: English. Published: April 24, 2014. Categories: Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Action & suspense, Fiction » Adventure » Action
“A brilliantly gripping novel…Patriot is a real page turner and will have you to gasping to the last page.” Jeremy Craddock, The Mid Cheshire Guardian Patriot is a pulse pounding, high octane action thriller with a heroine who is as happy running rapids as she is asking difficult questions at the Pentagon. For fans of Clive Cussler or Tom Clancy. 'Patriot' is the first Brooke Kinley Adventure