Interview with DG Rampton

What is your writing process?
Very organic. I'm hopeless with structure! I build up the main elements of the story in my head - usually in bed before I fall asleep - and when I have some feel for my characters I start writing.
What motivated you to become an indie author?
My writing doesn't fit the current mould for my genre. When it comes to romance stories set in the Regency, publishers, and consequently agents, seem to think that readers only want simple sentence structure, fast paced story lines and sex! Jane Austen and Georgette Heyer would be turning in their graves.
When did you first start writing?
In my early twenties. I had these complete paragraphs jostling around in my head, wanting to be born onto the page.
Describe your desk
It's currently the kitchen worktop! It has it's benefits - for one, I'm close to the fridge, and I can make myself a cup of my favourite chai tea whenever I want.
Where did you grow up, and how did this influence your writing?
I grew up in Sydney, Australia, which I suppose makes me a happy, shiny person and that in turn influences me to write happy, shiny stories. I adhere to Jane Austen's way of thinking - 'Let other pens dwell on guilt and misery'.
What is the greatest joy of writing for you?
Forming the beautiful words that my characters speak - I wish I could speak that way myself!
How do you approach cover design?
I hire the best designer I can afford. A fabulous, professional cover sets the tone for the rest of the book.
What do you read for pleasure?
I read Pride and Prejudice, Emma and Georgette Heyer's more grown up Regency romances...over and over again, I love them so much!

Occasionally, a good adventure/thriller will lure me away from Austen's and Heyer's Regency world.

And once in a blue moon, when l have a stretch of free time, I like reading books that delve into the crazy world of Quantum theory.
How has Smashwords contributed to your success?
Smashwords broke down the whole e-book process into small manageable steps that even a tech-illiterate like myself could understand...thank you!
What are you working on next?
I have just finished a Romantic Comedy film screenplay and am pitching it to producers. And I have started work on my second Regency romance.
What inspires you to get out of bed each day?
My family; a sunny morning; and a great Bonsoy latte
Published 2013-11-17.
Smashwords Interviews are created by the profiled author, publisher or reader.

Books by This Author

Artemisia - a Regency Novel in the Tradition of Jane Austen
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 105,560. Language: English. Published: November 12, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Romance » Regency, Fiction » Historical » Regency
(5.00)
"A fun confection with a romantic spirit and droll English characters." "I highly recommend this novel and author to readers who love Jane Austen, Georgette Heyer and traditional Regency romances!" - Austenesque Reviews "Artemisia...is a great success; a protagonist of whom Jane Austen would have approved, majoring in wit and intelligence" - Richmond Magazine (UK)