Interview with Joslyn Chase

Published 2017-06-17.
Who are your favorite authors?
So many writers have made a huge impact on me. For sheer enjoyment, I really love Dick Francis. He always features strong female characters and his heroes are people I'd like to spend time with. I've learned a lot from the the old-school romantic suspense of Mary Stewart, Charlotte Armstrong, Elizabeth Peters, etc. My favorites on the field right now are Jeffery Deaver, David Baldacci, John Grisham, Ruth Ware, Gillian Flynn, and I take my hat off a thousand times to brilliant story weaver Stephen King.
What inspires you to get out of bed each day?
I have a hard time winding down enough at night to fall asleep. I keep thinking about what I'll get to work on the next day. There are always stories bubbling around in my head and as soon as the first ray of consciousness penetrates the barrier of my sleep, I hit the ten second commute from bed to writing table. Sometimes I stop to brush my teeth.
You have a new book coming out on July 17th. Can you tell us something about that?
I'd love to! It's a suspense thriller, set in the area around Mt. Rainier. My protagonist, Riley Forte, is a concert pianist whose career crashed after the death of her husband and son. She suffers the weekend from hell when her comeback performance bombs on Friday, Mt. Rainier erupts on Saturday, and the massive runoff from the volcano causes water to rise everywhere, isolating Riley in a small community of neighbors, one of whom is a serial killer.

She faces a crisis over who to trust, and when she realizes she can’t trust anyone, breaks away in an attempt to hike over the ridge and bring in outside help. She is pursued by two men—one who will help her and one who will kill her. The trick is, she doesn’t know which is which.

It's a tense story, packed with twists and surprises. I had a lot of fun writing it and hope my readers have a superbly suspenseful experience reading it.
When you're not writing, how do you spend your time?
I play the piano and read whenever I get the chance. I also enjoy cooking and especially baking. Spending time with family is especially important. And I love walking, hiking, and traveling.
How do you discover the ebooks you read?
Many of the books I read come by way of the other books I read. In particular, books about the craft of writing often use existing works as examples of what to do or what not to do. This invariably instills a driving desire in me to read the story in question and I scour book stores and libraries until I track it down and devour it.
Do you remember the first story you ever wrote?
I do. I was a young mother living in an isolated, rural area while my Navy husband was out to sea. The story I wrote creeped me out so bad I couldn't sleep for days. I never published that story. Perhaps I should dig it out, do a rewrite, and see if it flies. It really packed some powerful punches, if I remember.
What is your writing process?
Let the idea simmer for a time on the back burners of my mind. When the time is right, I sit down and write an outline, making sure I've covered all the essential elements that make a story work. Then, I tackle any necessary research to fill in the holes of my knowledge. When I'm ready to write, I look at the goal of each scene and get into character, like an actor filling the role. I sort of improv it, maybe try playing the scene a couple of different ways until it feels natural for the viewpoint character. Then I write it as I see it happening, and try to get from point A to point B, as outlined. If I can't make that happen in an organic way, I know it's time to adjust my outline.
Do you remember the first story you ever read, and the impact it had on you?
I've been reading since I was three, according to my mom, and I don't have a clear memory of any stories from that time. Some of my favorite books from childhood include: From The Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler, The Silver Crown, The Chronicles of Narnia, The Phantom Tollbooth, Harriet The Spy, My Side of The Mountain, Calico Captive, and The Night They Stole The Alphabet.
How do you approach cover design?
I find a good designer. Cover design is a skill I have not yet learned, although I intend to focus on it at some point and see what I can do. Presently, I have a couple of designers that I use, depending on the genre of the book.
What are your five favorite books, and why?
Wow, that's tough! Here's my off-the-cuff answer:
1. Rebecca, by Daphne DuMaurier. I LOVE the tone of it, tense with suspense, dripping with omens and mystery.
2. Odds Against, by Dick Francis. Delicious suspense, stoic yet lovable protagonist, convincing villain, and a couple of staunch allies.
3. The Stand, by Stephen King. Chilling scenario, epic story full of compelling characters.
4. The Chronicles of Narnia. Reading them, magic becomes possible and you're in another world.
5. Pride and Prejudice. Full of humor and longing, regret, and love hanging on the edge of unfulfilled.
What do you read for pleasure?
Suspense, suspense, a little mystery, and more suspense. Love the stuff. I do enjoy humor and adventure, the occasional heart-warming story or heroic venture tale. There's a world full of wonderful books, but I do favor suspense fiction.
What is your e-reading device of choice?
I have a Kindle, a Christmas gift a few years back. I haven't tried anything else yet, so I can't really add much to the discussion.
Smashwords Interviews are created by the profiled author or publisher.

Latest books by This Author

Rough Musick
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 13,240. Language: English. Published: May 20, 2020. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Historical, Fiction » Mystery & detective » Short Stories
Can Kesten overcome the weight of tradition, bring a murderer to justice, and set her life on a course for happiness? If you love a tale full of suspense and superstition, grab your copy of Rough Musick today!
Under The Blood-Red Maple
Price: Free! Words: 12,250. Language: English. Published: April 21, 2020. Categories: Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Psychological thriller, Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Crime thriller
They all clamor for it, but every time Leigh is obliged to tell the story, it wears away a little piece of her soul. Soon she will be soulless. Get the story and see what everyone’s clamoring about. Click and read for free!
The Broken Bird
Price: Free! Words: 10,590. Language: English. Published: April 21, 2020. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Short Stories, Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Psychological thriller
One girl holds the key to the truth. Can Father Rinaldi guide her into revealing it? Fans of Jeffery Deaver, Ruth Rendell, and Daphne Du Maurier’s short stories will love reading The Broken Bird. Grab your copy today!
No Rest: 14 Tales of Chilling Suspense
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 58,040. Language: English. Published: April 9, 2020. Categories: Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Psychological thriller, Fiction » Mystery & detective » Short Stories
Fourteen spine-tingling tales guaranteed to chill and unnerve! You’ll thrill at these suspense-packed stories, so catch up on your beauty sleep. Once you start reading, it’ll be No Rest for you!
Duet for Piano & Chisel
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 15,090. Language: English. Published: December 2, 2019. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Amateur sleuth, Fiction » Mystery & detective » Women Sleuths
New spin on an old art form. Criminals beware. A concert pianist touched by tragedy. A sculptor, learning to live again after a traumatic injury. Each struggling to rise from the ashes, they join forces to solve a puzzling crime that spans decades. Piano meets chisel in a bravura performance that will keep you guessing to the end. Don’t miss it!
Steadman's Blind
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 81,180. Language: English. Published: November 19, 2019. Categories: Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Action & suspense, Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Crime thriller
Chief Deputy Randall Steadman knows how to read people, making him tough to face in the interrogation room. When disaster strikes, extortion, a deadly volcano, and a triple homicide mark the beginning of a long and winding road for Steadman and his new partner, Detective Frost. If you like a story full of twists and nail-biting suspense, Steadman’s Blind is what you’ve been waiting for!
The Tower
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 30,580. Language: English. Published: May 6, 2019. Categories: Fiction » Romance » Suspense, Fiction » Romance » Historical » General
In the uneasy aftermath of WWII in Bavaria, Laura Schreiner must choose whether to help her father nurse an American GI back to health. The decision she makes changes the course of her life, drawing her into a web of evil spun by a man who learned from the masters. In the face of his cruel obsession, can she free herself from the entanglement of the tower and embrace a life of love and freedom?
Double Eclipse
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 24,190. Language: English. Published: May 6, 2019. Categories: Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Crime thriller, Fiction » Mystery & detective » Women Sleuths
One mystery. One thriller. Double the suspense. Two stories, intertwined beneath a total eclipse of the sun—a spectacle you won’t want to miss. Get your copy of Double Eclipse today, for a double round of high suspense! To view the book trailer, visit the Joslyn Chase YouTube channel or joslynchase.com Extras tab.
Death of a Muse
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 19,270. Language: English. Published: May 12, 2018. Categories: Fiction » Mystery & detective » Amateur sleuth
One cat dead. One man soon to follow, unless he can catch her killer. For an audio sample of this book, visit https://joslynchase.com/audio-samples-full-length-stories/
Nocturne In Ashes
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 97,540. Language: English. Published: October 18, 2017. Categories: Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Crime thriller, Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Action & suspense
Mt. Rainier erupts, isolating down-and-outer, Riley Forte, with a serial killer. Riley must fight to hang on to the one thing she has left—her life, and the one thing she needs to turn it around—redemption. Fans of Jeffery Deaver, Lisa Gardner, and Peter Robinson will be captivated by this page-turner. If you like a gripping, suspenseful tale, grab your copy and prepare to burn the midnight oil.
View their profile to see all of their books