Interview with Monica Burns

What's the story behind your latest book?
I visited a BDSM club with Joey W. Hill just to see what the hubbub was all about with regard to the growing BDSM subgenre in romance. It was prior to the club opening, and the owner took us through the club showing us different equipment and what it was used for. I saw a table with hooks all around the edge of it, hooks like you might see on a pair of Victorian shoes, and a scene just popped into my head. From that point forward, I knew I was going to write HIS MISTRESS and more historical BDSM romances.
Do you remember the first story you ever read, and the impact it had on you?
The Scarlet Pimpernel was the first book I remember reading. I know there were other children's books, but the story of Sir Percy Blakeney and his wife Marguerite has never left my consciousness. It has adventure, romance, heroic deeds, the French Revolution, and a cast of characters that are compelling. In a word. Fantastic.
What are your five favorite books, and why?
The Scarlet Pimpernel, The DaVinci Code, Jane Eyre, A Tale of Two Cities, and Shadow Castle. All of these books have adventure, intelligent deduction, and with the exception of Dan Brown's "The DaVinci's Code," romance. They're exceptional stories, even though the four classics lean toward a heavy narrative. When I can remember the basic plot and scenes from a book years later, that means it was a fantastic read for me.
When did you first start writing?
I wrote my first story at the age of nine. It was a pirate romance, and I still remember bits and piece of it. I wrote it in a spiral notebook. Wish I could find those notebooks because I'd pull those stories out and use them as the basis for a plot. They were good story lines, but lousy writing.
What motivated you to become an indie author?
I had five books published with New York, and when they didn't offer me a new contract, I shrugged and moved on. Indie publishing has changed my life. I'm now able to write full-time, something I never could have done on the advances and royalties I saw with New York publishing. At first it was scary as hell, now I don't see how I could ever go back to the way things were. Unless of course, New York comes calling with a mega huge contract.
What do your fans mean to you?
My readers mean EVERYTHING to me. Without them, I wouldn't be an author. I'd be just a writer with stories that no one would ever see. I love my readers, and I love interacting with them. They're my life blood.
What do you read for pleasure?
Romance, Adventure, and Science Fiction
What is your e-reading device of choice?
I have an iPad, a Color Nook, and a Kindle Fire. I'm not picky as long as I have a device that's charged up.
What are you working on next?
I'm writing the second book in the Self-Made Men series. It's the story of Caleb and Angelique whom readers briefly meet in HIS MISTRESS. Caleb and Angelique have a history together, and their story will be a bit darker than HIS MISTRESS.
How do you discover the ebooks you read?
Word-of-mouth is the best way to discover new books. Whether it's eBooks or print. I'll then read the blurb to see if I'd like it and then maybe skim reviews.
Who are your favorite authors?
Charlotte Bronte, Amanda Quick, and Dan Brown
What inspires you to get out of bed each day?
The fact that I have to work on my book. It has to be written, and I can't dilly dally around.
Describe your desk
Sometimes my desk is neat and completely orderly. Today it happens to be cluttered with lists of things to do for a conference I'm attending, a book to publish, and general daily tasks. It's never in the same condition at any given time.
When you're not writing, how do you spend your time?
I work on promo, watch some of my favorite shows or movies on TV, spend time with my family visiting historical sites. I do research, they just take in the view.
Published 2014-05-04.
Smashwords Interviews are created by the profiled author, publisher or reader.

Books by This Author

Redemption (The Reckless Rockwoods #4)
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 121,150. Language: English. Published: November 9, 2016. Categories: Fiction » Romance » Historical, Fiction » Romance » Paranormal
WARNING: One sexy male psychic known for taking risks falls for a woman with a questionable background. The Reckless Rockwoods never shy away from danger or a challenge. This Rockwood is no different as he plunges into danger to save the woman he loves and prove to her that she truly is redeemable.
Inferno's Kiss - The Sicari Brotherhood
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 144,880. Language: English. Published: July 13, 2016. Categories: Fiction » Romance » Paranormal, Fiction » Romance » Action/adventure
The Order of the Sicari brotherhood is back and this time they're taking no prisoners when it comes to protecting the Order as warriors and lovers are torn between duty and desire.
Assassin's Heart
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 151,040. Language: English. Published: April 25, 2016. Categories: Fiction » Romance » Paranormal, Fiction » Romance » Fantasy
Book 2 in the popular Order of the Sicari series and winner of the prestigious 2011 PRISM Best of the Best (of all entries) Similar to series' like The Black Dagger Brotherhood, Midnight Breed, Immortals After Dark “If I had to compare Lysander and Phaedra to another couple from the world of paranormal romance, it would be to Bella and Zsadist. Yeah, I went there!” — Emily, What Book Is That
Assassin's Honor
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 137,430. Language: English. Published: March 28, 2016. Categories: Fiction » Romance » Paranormal, Fiction » Romance » Action/adventure
Ancient Rome Collides With Present-Day Chicago This award-winning series starts off with a bang with an exciting combination of romance, suspense, sexy paranormal assassin heroes, and extraordinary world-building, and in the end...Only Love Can Save an Empire’s Collapse and Ensure Another’s Downfall
Timeless Kisses
Price: Free! Words: 17,350. Language: English. Published: February 9, 2016. Categories: Fiction » Romance » Historical, Fiction » Romance » Short stories
Make your skin tingle and your heart race with this short sampler of sweet, steamy, and tantalizing kiss scenes by ten bestselling authors. Excerpts by Sabrina York; Julie Johnstone; Bronwen Evans; Tammy Andresen; Monica Burns; Gina Conkle; Shana Galen; Vanessa Kelly; Amanda Mariel; and Meara Platt Susana and the Scot, Sabrina York
Kismet
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 120,630. Language: English. Published: January 17, 2016. Categories: Fiction » Romance » Historical, Fiction » Romance » Action/adventure
It was a gamble she was born to make, with a man who isn't used to losing. What happens between them is....Kismet.
His To Command (Book 1 - Self-Made Men series)
Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 34,830. Language: English. Published: January 1, 2016. Categories: Fiction » Romance » Historical
Can a meddlesome family help two best friends realize they can be the best of lovers? Full book description below. NEW and EXPANDED CONTENT Originally published in the Wanton Christmas Wishes Anthology
The Highlander's Woman (The Reckless Rockwoods #3)
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 97,930. Language: English. Published: September 1, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Romance » Historical, Fiction » Romance » Paranormal
A proud Highlander unwilling to surrender his heart a second time, and a half-Scottish heroine who, like most Rockwoods, is up to the challenge of making her man realize she's The Highlander's Woman. Book #3 in the Reckless Rockwoods series
Decadent Bon Bons
Price: Free! Words: 167,490. Language: English. Published: March 24, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Romance » Historical, Fiction » Romance » Paranormal
An anthology of beginning chapters from Monica Burns' bestselling and award-winning books. An extended version of the Look Inside feature. Monica’s award-wining and bestselling romances have been recommended by bestselling authors every romance reader knows, including -- Sylvia Day, #1 NY Times bestselling author; Sabrina Jeffries, NY Times bestselling author and others.
Forever Mine
Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 128,140. Language: English. Published: December 29, 2014. Categories: Fiction » Romance » Time travel, Fiction » Historical » Paranormal
For fans of Outlander and A Knight In Shining Armor…“Forever Mine is the best time-travel romance I’ve ever read, rivaling Jude Deveraux.” — Lucy Monroe, USAToday bestselling author Thrust back to 1897 by an explosion, Victoria Ashton must impersonate a disreputable countess. When she falls in love with an earl, she must make a painful sacrifice if she's to be with the man she loves.
His Mistress
Series: Self-Made Men, Book 1. Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 96,910. Language: English. Published: May 11, 2014. Categories: Fiction » Romance » Erotic, Fiction » Romance » Historical
(5.00)
HIS MISTRESS is “powerfully done, and the scenes between Tobias and Jane mesmerized me. I loved it.” — Joey W. Hill, author of the Knights of the Board Room series. When Tobias Lynsted is blackmailed into marrying Lady Jane, neither realize they both belong to the same BDSM club. Tobias is haunted by dark secrets, until Jane becomes both his salvation and the mistress of his soul.
Love's Revenge
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 90,610. Language: English. Published: February 20, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Romance » Historical, Fiction » Romance » Erotic
(4.00)
When Quentin Blackwell, Earl of Devlyn, receives an unexpected offer for vengeance. But revenge could cost him the one thing he wants the most. Sophie's love. Firmly on the shelf at forty-one, Sophie never really expected the Devil of Devlyn to actually accept her rash proposal, and she certainly hadn’t planned on falling in love with a younger man.
A Bluestocking Christmas
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 77,700. Language: English. Published: November 14, 2012. Categories: Fiction » Romance » Historical, Fiction » Romance » Paranormal
(5.00)
Sinful words, wicked pleasures and a ghost all add up to A Bluestocking Christmas with a Dickens of a twist.
Obsession (The Reckless Rockwoods #1)
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 136,120. Language: English. Published: May 18, 2012. Categories: Fiction » Romance » Historical, Fiction » Romance » Suspense
WARNING: Contains an uptight earl with a secret that haunts him, and a heroine determined to have her independence while overcoming the dark pain of her past. Two souls trying find their way to each other in Jack the Ripper's London,where deeply buried passions explode in a world gone mad with terror.
Love's Portrait
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 61,520. Language: English. Published: September 17, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Romance » Historical
(4.67)
One woman’s rebellious act; One man’s quest for seduction; A portrait that ignites a scandalous passion When Julia Westgard commissions a nude portrait of herself, the painting is more than a rebellious act. It's an attempt to regain her self-worth after years of a loveless, repressive marriage to her late husband. But the private portrait puts her directly in the path of Morgan St. Claire.