Interview with Sophia Elaine Hanson

Who are your favorite authors?
Sarah J Maas, Tamora Pierce, Tahereh Mafi, Markus Zusak, Allie Condie, Melina Marchetta, Ruth Ozeki, J.K. Rowling, Kazuo Ishiguro, and Sherman Alexie.
What inspires you to get out of bed each day?
Mostly, the otherworldly shrieking of my alarm clock.
When you're not writing, how do you spend your time?
I am a full time student at New York University, so I have very little time for anything except writing and schoolwork! When I am not doing either one of those things I love to read, sing, box, run, and spend time with my friends and family.
How do you discover the ebooks you read?
Primarily through word of mouth! Tumblr and Goodreads are great places to find ebooks and physical books alike.
Do you remember the first story you ever wrote?
Oh, yes. My first story was also my first crack at novel writing. I was about eight years old. I scratched out a meandering seventy page novella called The Journey to Demethedept, which was a magical country that could only be entered through the pages of a book. I think I still have it lying around somewhere. Hopefully it will never see the light of day.
What is your writing process?
I am a hybrid of a planner and a pantser. Before I sit down to write a story in earnest, I sketch out the basic plot in a notebook. I am such a notebook snob, I only use black Moleskine. *scoffs at self* I also craft character lists which include physical descriptions and surface level information about their personalities, histories, and relationships. From there I just jump into the story and let it lead me where it will. I usually have a hazy idea of the beginning, middle, and end, but the details do not become clear until they come out the tips of my fingers.
Do you remember the first story you ever read, and the impact it had on you?
Hmm. Honestly I do not. I have read so many stories over the years. I suppose the first series I read that really made an impact on me though was Harry Potter. In fact, I hated reading until I discovered the series through a friend. From there on out I never went anywhere without a book.
How do you approach cover design?
I got lucky. I found a photograph by the insanely talented photographer Marta Bevacqua. The model looked exactly like the main character of my debut novel (VINYL). I wanted to keep the design itself fairly simple so as not to distract from the image, which was striking enough as it was.
What are your five favorite books, and why?
Ah. That is the question. I have SO many. I could never choose just five...but if you insist I suppose I could give you five that are in my Top 100 list.

1. Heir of Fire by Sarah J Maas
2. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
3. The Illustrated Man by Ray Bradbury
4. The Angel Experiment by James Patterson
5. A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki
What do you read for pleasure?
I hate to sound like Sarah Palin but...everything. Young Adult. Classics. Science Fiction. Fantasy. Fiction. Dystopian. Poetry. Biographies. I love reading. There are very few genres that cannot hold my interest.
What is your e-reading device of choice?
Kindle, for sure.
Published 2015-12-14.
Smashwords Interviews are created by the profiled author, publisher or reader.

Books by This Author

The Vinyl Trilogy Boxed Set
Price: $6.99 USD. Words: 291,360. Language: English. Published: May 3, 2018. Categories: Fiction » Young adult or teen » Sci-Fi & fantasy, Fiction » Young adult or teen » Romance
The complete three book Vinyl Trilogy from bestselling author Sophia Elaine Hanson. This Savage Song meets Legend in this story of resistance, love, betrayal, and weaponized music. Find out why Kirkus Reviews calls Sophia's work "captivating and memorable" and an "action packed ride through a grim but fascinating world."
Siren: Book Three of the Vinyl Trilogy
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 101,240. Language: English. Published: May 1, 2018. Categories: Fiction » Young adult or teen » Fantasy, Fiction » Fantasy » Urban
Graceling meets The Bone Season in the long-awaited final installment of the Vinyl Trilogy. Two weeks have passed since the revolution fell. Ronja and Roark have fled to the island nation of Tovaire before Maxwell could use her voice as a weapon. Ronja craves vengeance on the man who murdered her mother and her friend. Siren is a story of revenge, rebirth, love, and the limitless power of music.
Radio: Book Two of the Vinyl Trilogy
Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 90,590. Language: English. Published: April 5, 2017. Categories: Fiction » Young adult or teen » Sci-Fi & fantasy
Radio is the highly anticipated sequel to the #1 Amazon Bestseller, Vinyl by Sophia Elaine Hanson. After the traumatic events at Red Bay, Ronja hangs by a thread and clings to the promise that her gift will soon become the weapon of the Anthem. When doubt and arrogance turn their once trusted commander against them, Ronja and her friends are forced to take matters into their own hands.
Vinyl: Book One of the Vinyl Trilogy
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 100,310. Language: English. Published: November 18, 2015. Categories: Fiction » Science fiction » Utopias & dystopias, Fiction » Young adult or teen » Sci-Fi & fantasy
(4.60 from 5 reviews)
Legend meets Leviathan in this gritty steampunk fiction by debut author Sophia Elaine Hanson. Charged with fear, heavy with heartbreak, and stitched with unexpected moments of joy, Vinyl is perfect for fans of Cinder and Divergent. The first in a trilogy, Vinyl is a story of loyalty, passion, trauma, and the extraordinary power of music.