Interview with Tanisha D. Jones

What motivated you to become an indie author?
I've been writing for most of my life and I even managed to sign with a literary agent. But after three years of going the traditional route and being told to cut this or change that. After three years of feeling like everything I was doing was wrong I was ready to quit, but I have so many people pushing me forward that I decided to try to do it on my own. This way I can control everything from branding to editing to marketing and distribution. Succeed or fail, it's all on me and I'm fine with that.
What is the greatest joy of writing for you?
The sheer story telling. I have whole worlds in my head, a cast of thousands. Writing gives them life and I want to share that with everyone. It relaxes me and makes me feel like I have something to say and it makes me even happier to know that people actually enjoy the stories I tell, the worlds I create and the people who live in them.
What do your fans mean to you?
Everything. They are the reason I write and the reason I keep going.
What are you working on next?
I am working on editing the second novel in The Fallen Series and a new Modern Muse series. The new series will differ from the Fallen series , which are strongly connected, the Modern Muse series will be stand alone novels with a loose connection. The first muse I'm working on is Clio , an archeologist who ropes a once well respected historian into an adventure that has pirates, buried treasure, a mysterious Caribbean Island and the bayous of Louisiana.
Who are your favorite authors?
Wow, great question. I've always loved books but my favorites wow, long list. I would say Anne Rice who piqued my interest in vampires and witches, J.R. Ward who made vampires soo sexy, Stephen King, James Patterson, Janet Evanovich's Fox and O'Hare capers are my new favorite, Charlaine Harris and Sherrilyn Kenyon. But I also like Maya Banks, Linda Howard, Lee Child, Darynda Jones, Harper Lee, Lucy Maud Montgomery,... this list could go on forever
How do you approach cover design?
I'm a very visual writer so the images on the cover have to be both intriguing and fit the story. I see lots of covers with bare chested men and animals, but the title has nothing to do with the image, I think they should all fit together. The title needs to be concise, the art clear and gives an idea of what the story is about but doesn't give too much away. It has to make sense, not just be sexy or exciting .
What do you read for pleasure?
I read everything. I tend to roll through series . Once I find a story or writer I like I'll read everything they've written. I've done it with Charlaine Harris and I just finished Darynda Jones' Charley Davidson books. I love horror, mystery and romance...anything and everything.
What is your e-reading device of choice?
I have a Kindle, but I also use my laptop. I bought the Kindle to take on vacation and read in bed. I think I have like eight books waiting to be read at any given time.
Describe your desk
My desk, right now is my bed and a lap desk. But that's going to change very soon. I'm in the process of decorating my office, complee with beautiful grey writing desk, posters of my cover art and a wall of bookshelves.
Where did you grow up, and how did this influence your writing?
Born and raised in New Orleans and the city itself is a character. Most of my writing takes place in New Orleans and the surrounding area because the city is such a unique place. There are suburbs and the hustle of Downtown, there are modern skyscrapers next to two hundred year old buildings. It is the only place I know of that you can call into work and tell your boss that you're running late because you're stuck behind a parade and the kids can crack open a crab and peel crawfish by age 3. My characters tend to be embodiments of the city itself. They are if say, Magazine St was a person. This city has so much history, so many cultures French, Greek, German, Irish, Italian,Spanish, ...and the haunted buildings, the mythology and the theological aspects.. it's a magical world all on its own. Who wouldn't be influenced by this place?.
What inspires you to get out of bed each day?
My daughter. I'm a single parent so I do everything, it can be a struggle, especially since I work full time and am a full-time student (graduation is coming soon) and I write . I want her to have the best childhood she can have, especially since it goes so quickly, so I work hard so she can have those memories. She has so many great memories already at 13, of family vacations, birthdays, trips, festivals... I want her to know that there is no such thing as failure as long as you try your best. Writing could be a great success of blow up in my face, but at least I put forth the effort. I think she sees that.
When you're not writing, how do you spend your time?
Working, sleeping, spending time with my huge extended family..... and thinking about writing.
What is your writing process?
It's pretty unique. I actually wrote an article about it. You can read it here: https://wordpress.com/post/tanishadelill.com/318
Published 2016-06-03.
Smashwords Interviews are created by the profiled author, publisher or reader.

Books by This Author

The First to Fall
Price: $5.99 USD. Words: 112,370. Language: English. Published: June 6, 2016. Categories: Fiction » Romance » Paranormal, Fiction » Romance » Fantasy
Fans of J.R. Ward and Anne Rice will love this exciting new series!! When the body of rock star Nicky Sky turns up missing, Det. Elijah Cain is on the case, until it's ripped out from under him by some powerful higher ups. But Elijah knows the truth. With the help of the sexy and mysterious Dr. C. Keegan Kent, he is drawn down a path that could lead to his destiny ...or his destruction