Interview with A.K. Williamson

Describe your desk
I hardly write at it. I prefer to be outdoors when I write. My desk is a mess anyway.
When did you first start writing?
I have been writing since before I can remember. I used to write little stories for my parents all the time. My parents encouraged it, until I started writing scary stories in the third grade. I was in a Christian private school at the time, and scared a few of my teachers.
What's the story behind your latest book?
"The Citizen" is my latest book. It was inspired by a dream that I had while I was in college. I saw parts of the opening scene in my dream, and that part of the story was easy to write. The rest took a long time to figure out!
What motivated you to become an indie author?
I woke up one day and decided that writing was the dream that I wanted to chase. I am an extremely impatient person, so waiting to get an agent and have my work maybe accepted was not an option. So, I decided to self-publish.
What are you working on next?
I am working on too many projects! Of course, "The Forsaken One," which is the sequel to "The Citizen," is on the top of my list. But, I am also working on a short horror story that I hope to have out later this year.
Who are your favorite authors?
Of course, Stephen King is on the top of my list. But, I also love Neil Gaiman, Jack Ketchum, and Ezekiel Boone.
What inspires you to get out of bed each day?
The promise of coffee.
What do you read for pleasure?
I read anything horror-related that I can get my hands on. I'm not sure if it is entirely for pleasure, though. An author's research never ends, after all.
What is the greatest joy of writing for you?
I joke that I write so that the voices in my head will shut up. But, my creativity screams at me constantly. I am barraged by ideas and thoughts, and getting them out on paper is truly a release for me. But, I also love creating something new and original, and I love developing relationships with people through my writing.
When you're not writing, how do you spend your time?
If I am not writing, them I am probably on social media. I have gotten slightly addicted to Instagram recently...
What is your writing process?
It is a probably non-traditional process. Stories come to me in bits and pieces. I write those parts down, and then try to connect them like I would pieces of a puzzle. It is a very time-consuming process, but it works well for me.
Published 2018-03-28.
Smashwords Interviews are created by the profiled author, publisher or reader.

Books by This Author

The Citizen
Price: Free! Words: 53,600. Language: English. Published: November 4, 2017. Categories: Fiction » Coming of age, Fiction » Science fiction » Apocalyptic
For fans of The Hunger Games, Divergent, and The Maze Runner comes a dystopian horror novel like no other. Nestled in the ruins of post-apocalyptic North America, The Silo houses a small civilization of simple people. Among the group is Lysa, eighteen years old and not quite like the others. After she discovers some of the dark secrets The Silo holds, Lysa finds her life in danger. Will she surv