Interview with Melanie Ansley

Who are your favorite authors?
Brian Jacques is probably an obvious one. I devoured his books as a child. I'm also a fan of Alexandre Dumas, Phillip Pullman, C.S. Lewis, Lian Hearn, and Peter S. Beagle.
Where did you grow up, and how did this influence your writing?
I have spent most of my life in China, and although I don't write China stories (yet) I think China has had a huge influence on my writing. I'm very interested in topics about free speech, morality, and when might becomes right.
Why animals?
"Animal Farm" had a huge impact on me. I think it made me realize how much could be said under the guise of a simple farm story, and how sometimes it's easier to make statements with animal protagonists than it is with human ones. I also began to understand that the world of animals was a lot more brutal and harsh than what my childhood fables would have me believe; we tend to think of animal stories as sweet bedtime stories for children, when the lives of real animals all around us are anything but, and we are a major contributor to their plight.
What are you working on next?
I'm working on Theo's next adventures, in the upcoming sequels to "Theo and the Forbidden Language".
Describe your desk
It varies. Sometimes it's my lap, and other times it's the kitchen table where my infant daughter has just left her latest food art installation.
What is your e-reading device of choice?
My Kindle. It's utterly addictive.
How do you discover the ebooks you read?
I'm constantly discovering ebooks, because I'm online and either looking up a new Twitter follower who also writes, or just happen to see a book that catches my eye. I am easily distracted by all the great ebooks out there.
Published 2016-02-09.
Smashwords Interviews are created by the profiled author, publisher or reader.

Books by This Author

The Queen and the Dagger (A Book of Theo novella)
Price: Free! Words: 17,890. Language: English. Published: January 29, 2016. Categories: Fiction » Young adult or teen » Sci-Fi & fantasy, Fiction » Adventure » Action
"The Queen and the Dagger" is a prequel novella to "Theo and the Forbidden Language". When the rabbit princess Indigo realizes her crown is threatened, she must battle her own aunt and mentor to save her throne, and her future. An action adventure fantasy for fans of "Redwall" or "Watership Down".