Bonnie Turner

Publisher info

Bonnie Turner (AKA Aurorawolf) is an Independent Publisher, Author, Proofreader, and Copyeditor. She writes Children's Fiction and Nonfiction, Young Adult and Adult Historical Fiction, Humor, Satire and Romantic Suspense. She's a Jazz-Fusion & Classical music fan with a background in parapsychology, metaphysics, and yoga. Born in Independence, Missouri, at the height of the Great Depression, she currently lives in De Pere, Wisconsin.
___________________

NEED HELP WITH YOUR MANUSCRIPT?

PROOFREADING & COPY EDITING
Low cost & professional. References available.
Info: aurorawolf.bonnieturner.editor@gmail.com

Smashwords Interview

Where did you grow up, and how did this influence your writing?
I was born and raised in Independence, Missouri, USA, but I don't know if the town itself influenced my writing or if my family did. More likely, I got some writing talent from certain family members. I was born during the Great Depression, but I don't think being poor had any great influence.

However, I learned to read in First Grade from the famed Dick and Jane readers, and those made a big impression on me. I think it dawned on me there were people besides myself on this planet, and some of them even wrote down their stories. I loved those books. And from there, I read everything else I could get my hands on, mostly adult books.

Oh yes, I had a Big Big Storybook with such classics as Black Beauty, Heidi, Hans Brinker or the Silver Skates, and others. But the grownup books gave me a larger introduction to life, even the sordid side (Erskine Caldwell's Tobacco Road and God's Little Acre), Gone With the Wind, and even a 12-volume set of Zane Grey's westerns. When I got to high school, I read books I'd been forbidden to read earlier.

Perhaps it took all my life to get my act together and write my historical novel, Face the Winter Naked, which is set in Missouri (Independence, Kansas City, Springfield, and St. Louis).
When did you first start writing?
I first started writing as a young teen, beginning with poetry that was really terrible. I call those my "therapeutic poetry days," because I was mostly an unhappy loner.

The real writing--which included teaching myself nearly everything--didn't begin until after my second marriage. I think I needed something to keep me from going crazy raising five kids. This time, I didn't write much poetry, but instead wrote some one-act plays. Novels came later.
Read more of this interview.

Where to find Bonnie Turner online


Series

Books

The Ghost of Calico Acres
Price: $2.98 USD. Words: 101,640. Language: American English. Published: December 28, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Romance » New adult, Fiction » Romance » Suspense
When Dr. Marc St. Clair inherits a mysterious Victorian house from his great-aunt Miriam, he and his paraplegic wife, Summer, must live there for a year before the deal is closed. The house is claimed to be haunted, and Marc must discover by whom or what before the year is up or risk losing his inheritance and the woman he loves. Little does he realize how close he is to losing both.
A Mouse Tale for Christmas
Series: Children (preschool). Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 2,860. Language: English. Published: February 15, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Children’s books » Holidays & Celebrations / Christmas & Advent, Fiction » Children’s books » Short Stories
A read-aloud holiday story for all ages. When Pinky Mouse disobeys his parents and sneaks out of their dusty attic home to learn the meaning of Christmas, he finds himself in danger from Tiger the cat and a mean-looking mousetrap. Oh dear! The cuckoo clock doesn't know and the cat only wants to eat him! How can he find out about Christmas?
Grandma's Bedtime Stories
Series: Children (preschool). Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 4,080. Language: English. Published: November 27, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Children’s books » Entertainment
Ten read-aloud, interactive short stories for preschool and early grades to help stimulate a young child's memory and imagination. Parents, grandparents, and child-care personnel can discuss the stories and characters with their children while reading and encourage them to find pictures and maps to match the stories.
Drum Dance
Series: North Wind Tales: Arctic Trilogy · Historical Collection. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 78,910. Language: English. Published: November 14, 2010. Categories: Fiction » Historical » Canada, Fiction » Young adult or teen » Adventure
Drum Dance is teen / adult fiction filled with adventure, suspense, and danger in Canada's Central Arctic, where Sir John Franklin's crew froze to death searching for the Northwest Passage. In the late 1930s, 17-year-old David Jansson agrees to spend two years at an isolated fur-trading post with his estranged father, Per, manager for the Hudson's Bay Company ... and almost lives to regret it
Down the Memory Hole
Series: Children (ages 9-12). Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 43,640. Language: English. Published: May 29, 2010. Categories: Fiction » Children’s books » Social Issues / Death & Dying, Fiction » Young adult or teen » Family
Summer vacation sucks when 12-year-old Buzz shares his room with a grandpa who has Alzheimer’s disease and his parents forbid him to associate with his best friend. The idea of giving up Mitch is bad enough. But how can he relate to an old man who wears adult diapers and thinks dog biscuits are people cookies? Someone who could die in the night and scare Buzz right out of puberty! (Ages 12 & up)
The Haunted Igloo
Series: North Wind Tales: Arctic Trilogy · Children (ages 9-12). Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 46,710. Language: English. Published: April 11, 2010. Categories: Fiction » Children’s books » People & Places / Polar Regions, Fiction » Cultural & ethnic themes » Cultural interest, general
For someone afraid of the dark, living in the Arctic is a severe test of courage. Ten-year-old Jean-Paul struggles to hide his fear and adjust to life in the NWT, where he is taunted by a group of Inuit boys because of his lameness caused by a birth defect. Forced imprisonment in a "haunted" igloo proves to be one of the most severe challenges to face Jean-Paul in the harsh Arctic environment.
Spirit Lights
Series: North Wind Tales: Arctic Trilogy · Children (ages 9-12). Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 23,360. Language: English. Published: April 9, 2010. Categories: Fiction » Young adult or teen » Adventure, Fiction » Children’s books » People & Places / Polar Regions
Spirit Lights is the second book in my Arctic Series and is the sequel to The Haunted Igloo, a middle-grade novel first published by Houghton Mifflin Company in 1991. It’s a coming-of-age story for fans of Gary Paulsen, Scott O'Dell & Jack London, in which 12-year-old Jean-Paul has overcome his fear of the dark, but discovers his best Inuit friend Chinook is terrified of the Northern Lights.
Face the Winter Naked
Series: Historical Collection. Price: $0.99 USD. Words: 101,730. Language: English. Published: March 7, 2010. Categories: Fiction » Historical » USA, Fiction » Women's fiction » General
(5.00 from 1 review)
Daniel Tomelin, a battle-worn veteran haunted by the carnage of the First World War, deserts his family in the Great Depression and goes on the road seeking work and relief from his PTSD. Set in a tragic era when hope was sometimes all they had, this story parallels today's economic turmoil and unemployment.

Bonnie Turner's tag cloud


Smashwords book reviews by Bonnie Turner

  • Smashwords Book Marketing Guide on March 08, 2010

    This is a great marketing guide for today's e-publishers! The conversational style is easy to read and understand. I already use some of Mark's suggestions, but there are some I hadn't thought of. Bonnie
  • Family Deceptions on April 04, 2011

    Strong writing, exceptional plot The intelligent, intriguing plot of Family Deceptions immediately grabbed my attention—and my heart—and kept me reading from the first page to the last. Loretta Giacoletto's memorable characters instantly came to life as Pietro Rocca—shamed and banished by his wife, Isabella, from their home in the Alpine village of Faiallo, in northern Italy—crossed the ocean, changed his name, and created another life in America with a new family, while secretly longing for the wife and children he left behind. Peppered throughout with bits of Italian language, historical reminders of a great war in Europe lend authenticity to the narrative. The novel is both gritty and tender by turns, the author's knowledge of Italy and America richly portrayed in the settings of both countries. This well-crafted tale of a family divided for twenty-nine years by a deep chasm of deception—and love—becomes the saga of two families of equal importance and comes properly together in a surprising ending. This is a story that remains in the mind and heart long after the last page is turned. Highly recommended.
  • The Crow and The Dwarf on July 04, 2012

    I was unprepared for the emotional impact of this well-written short story, The Crow and The Dwarf, and plan to read more of Ms. Moore's excellent stories that tug the heartstrings.
  • Judgment of the Elders on Oct. 30, 2014

    I loved this book! Judgment of the Elders is the first Urban Fantasy I've read, so I wasn't sure what to expect when I started. Some of the fantasy parts were a little hard for me to get into, but the modern day "human" scenes were a delight and easy to follow. The author, Gregg Schwartzkopf, knows his stuff and is an excellent writer. Imagine being forced to live the life of a human girl when you're a male--specifically, Caswel Esmar te Willowwalk, disgraced Knight of Whiteleaf--an Alfaran, and nobility among the Fae. It is my hope that in the sequel, "Cass" bonds so closely with his human friends that the elders will remove his punishment and allow him to choose between his former and his new life. Well done, Mr. Schwartzkopf!