C. S. Johnson


C. S. Johnson is the author of several young adult novels, including sci-fi and fantasy adventures such as the Starlight Chronicles series, the Once Upon a Princess saga, and the Divine Space Pirates trilogy. With a gift for sarcasm and an apologetic heart, she currently lives in Atlanta with her family. Find out more at http://www.csjohnson.me.

Smashwords Interview

What's the story behind your latest book?
I'm currently working on "Kingdom of Ash & Soot," which is an alternative historical spy adventure set in 1870s Prague. I was inspired to write it because my father's family is originally from that area of Eastern Europe, and I wanted to write something to pay homage to that as well as my love of fairy tales and romantic adventures. My main character, Eleanora Svodovoba, is a nineteen year old girl living as a servant in her own household when her maternal grandmother arrives and calls on Eleanora and her brother, Ben, to help her stop an assassination attempt on the deposed king of Bohemia, Ferdinand V. Along with learning how to fight, and why she should fight, Eleanora interacts with the high socalites of Prague, the members of the League of Ungentlemanly Warfare, and a number of her mother's friends from a long time ago -- and a prince in disguise. It's a fun, coming of age novel that grows into a heroine's adventure.
What motivated you to become an indie author?
I am too impatient to be a traditionally published author. I like experimenting with POV and going off-beat, and I like having full control of my content as well as my publishing. I'm very grateful for the chance to share my work with others, and one day I hope to make a successful living off of it. In the meantime, people matter more than pennies. I'll keep writing as much as I can.
Read more of this interview.

Where to find C. S. Johnson online

Where to buy in print


Once Upon A Princess Saga
A Historical Fantasy Fairy Tale Retelling of Sleeping Beauty, set in four part novella episodes.

Beauty's Curse

Price: Free!
The Starlight Chronicles
In this epic fantasy adventure series, fallen Stars become their city's resident superheroes -- and not everyone is happy about it. With dragons and demons, true love and supernatural calling, this series has something for everyone to enjoy!
The Divine Space Pirates
When Aerie St. Cloud finds herself accidentally captured onboard the pirated starship Perdition, she has no idea that falling in love with the captain will alter the world forever. Set in a dystopian future, the Divine Space Pirates is a fun adventure about family, faith and the ties that bind couples and communities together.


Beauty's Curse
Series: Once Upon A Princess Saga. Price: Free! Words: 44,050. Language: English. Published: January 4, 2018. Categories: Fiction » Fairy tales
In this historical fantasy fairy tale retelling of Sleeping Beauty, Princess Aurora of Rhone -- Rose to her friends -- knows the truth of her curse, and she sets out with her friends to find a way to break it. But when the king calls her back home, she finds herself faced with a harrowing ultimatum: Abdicate the throne, or get married.
Searching (A Prequel to the Starlight Chronicles)
Series: The Starlight Chronicles, Book 0. Price: $3.99 USD. Words: 61,540. Language: English. Published: December 31, 2017. Categories: Fiction » Fantasy » Epic, Fiction » Coming of age
Long before she took up the title of Starry Knight, Raiya Cole was born to fight demons -- starting with her own.
The Heights of Perdition (Book 1 of the Divine Space Pirates)
Series: The Divine Space Pirates. Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 87,060. Language: English. Published: December 20, 2017. Categories: Fiction » Romance » Sci-fi, Fiction » Science fiction » Utopias & dystopias
Aerie St. Cloud is determined to earn her father's love, her family unit's acceptance, and her nation's respect, but her plans quickly fall apart when she realizes she is falling in love with the one man who wants to destroy them all.
Slumbering (Book 1 of the Starlight Chronicles)
Series: The Starlight Chronicles, Book 1. Price: Free! Words: 62,980. Language: English. Published: December 17, 2017. Categories: Fiction » Fantasy » Epic, Fiction » Young adult or teen » Sci-Fi & fantasy
A narcissistic teenager is reluctant to save his city from evil after learning he is a fallen Star with superpowers. With demons, dragons, and all the fun and terror of high school, Slumbering is the first book in the epic fantasy adventure series from C. S. Johnson.

C. S. Johnson's tag cloud