Cameron Trost

Biography

Cameron Trost is a writer of strange, mysterious, and creepy tales about people just like you. His short stories have been published in dozens of magazines and anthologies, and many of them can be found in his collection, Hoffman's Creeper and Other Disturbing Tales. He is also the author of the urban adventure and suspense novel, The Tunnel Runner. He is the vice-president and Queensland community leader of the Australian Horror Writers' Association, and an Australian Shadows Award-winning editor. Rainforests, thunderstorms, and whisky are a few of his favourite things. http://www.trostlibrary.blogspot.com

Smashwords Interview

How do you discover the ebooks you read?
I usually discover ebooks to read through direct contact with authors either online or in person. Also, friends and other writers tend to suggest books that would interest me.
What is your writing process?
I kick back with a glass of scotch and just get those ideas down on paper. Sometimes, I have the idea for the climax of a story and work my way towards it. Other times, a character or setting inspire me and I let them write the story, leading me along.
Read more of this interview.

Where to find Cameron Trost online


Where to buy in print


Books

The Tunnel Runner
Price: $2.50 USD. Words: 73,600. Language: English. Published: September 22, 2016. Categories: Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Action & suspense, Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Psychological thriller
Entering the tunnels is easy, but Ripley and Gabriela soon discover that reaching the surface again will be the greatest challenge they have ever faced... The Tunnel Runner is a tale of urban adventure and social discontent that plunges the reader deep beneath the city of Brisbane. Come and explore the world on the other side of the street.
Subtropical Suspense
Price: $2.50 USD. Words: 84,010. Language: Australian English. Published: August 31, 2014. Categories: Fiction » Anthologies » Mystery, Fiction » Thriller & suspense » Crime thriller
Sixteen tales of mystery and suspense set in the subtropical city of Brisbane, Australia.
Hoffman's Creeper and Other Disturbing Tales
Price: $2.50 USD. Words: 94,730. Language: Australian English. Published: December 9, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Anthologies » Short stories - single author
“Hoffman’s Creeper and Other Disturbing Tales” is the first short story collection from Cameron Trost. It plunges the reader into a world of mystery, suspense, obsession and greed.
Let Darkness Take Hold
Price: Free! Words: 9,640. Language: English. Published: May 20, 2011. Categories: Fiction » Thriller & suspense » General
(4.33)
This debut suspense novella from Cameron Trost plunges the reader into the dark world of Michael Braun, a suburban landscape gardener who has lost everything he loved. When the opportunity to discover the truth about what really happened that fateful night six years ago presents itself, he seizes it. . . and lets darkness take hold.

Cameron Trost's tag cloud

Cameron Trost's favorite authors on Smashwords


Smashwords book reviews by Cameron Trost

  • Invocation - A Prelude to The Noctuary on March 15, 2013

    Invocation introduces us to Greg Chapman's very own world of cosmic horror in the tradition of Lovecraft and Barker. Prepare yourself, and step inside...
  • Checkmate: Tales of Speculative Fiction on March 08, 2014

    A wonderful collection of tales of subtle urban fantasy with a delicious gothic flavour. Icy Sedgwick's flash fiction is perfect and the longer stories here also captivate the reader. It is clear that many of these tales are based on her real life and yet, somehow, she manages to weave magic into them in a most graceful way. My favourites were "The Midas Box", "The Thwarted Stalker", "The Mirror Phase", and the humorous "The Dead Do Listen".
  • Of Man And Woman on Aug. 27, 2016

    "Of Man and Woman" is a short, action-packed tale set in outback Australia which uses body horror to explore the roles we play in life. It's a gritty tale about finding your way and shedding skin, and the characters and environment chosen by the author are ideally suited to the plot. I look forward to reading more from Claire Fitzpatrick.