DG Rampton

Biography

D.G. Rampton | Bestselling author of humorous Regency romance in the tradition of Jane Austen and Georgette Heyer |

I have always been a creative creature at heart, with a passion for storytelling in all its forms. But by some mischievous twist of fate I found myself studying engineering (the driest and most analytical of subjects!) and followed that up by working in the construction industry for ten years. What possessed me, you might well ask! Eventually, the call of my creative inclinations proved too demanding and I finally succumbed and started to write.

From my early years, I was drawn to the wit and eloquence of Jane Austen, Georgette Heyer and Oscar Wilde, so it was only natural that I would gravitate towards the Regency romance genre. But not the sex-fuelled kind that could make you blush in an empty room with the lights off. I prefer old-fashioned subtlety that delivers a good dose of passion but still allows the reader's powerful imagination to fill in the gaps and make the characters their own.

I also like to keep the story light-hearted - the proverbial rose coloured spectacles are kept firmly in place!

'Artemisia' is my first novel and I have been utterly surprised at the success it has enjoyed. When you start to write simply for the love of writing in a way that speaks to you, without considering if the end product will make money, you have few expectations of success and only hope that there is someone out there who shares your tastes. Well, it seems I'm not the only old-fashioned romantic out there who likes her heroes Alpha and her heroines feisty!

If it wasn't for the wonderful reviews I have received from my readers, I might never have started working on my second Regency Romance (fingers crossed, due in March 2017), so a big thank you to anyone who has left me a positive review.

If you are interested in learning more about me or my creative projects, here are my social media sites to visit:

Website: http://DGRampton.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DGRampton

Twitter: https://twitter.com/DGRampton

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/dgrampton

Youtube For The Love of Jane Austen Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC94Dac9TTUT3vEHX7OaRA1Q/feed

Smashwords Interview

What is your writing process?
Very organic. I'm hopeless with structure! I build up the main elements of the story in my head - usually in bed before I fall asleep - and when I have some feel for my characters I start writing.
What motivated you to become an indie author?
My writing doesn't fit the current mould for my genre. When it comes to romance stories set in the Regency, publishers, and consequently agents, seem to think that readers only want simple sentence structure, fast paced story lines and sex! Jane Austen and Georgette Heyer would be turning in their graves.
Read more of this interview.

Where to find DG Rampton online


Where to buy in print


Videos

preview of 'Artemisia and the Unwelcome Chaperone'
This clip is a preview of 'Artemisia and the Unwelcome Chaperone' ... a short-film about a reluctant debutante in Regency England who has no wish for a London Season and sets out to manipulate her prospective chaperone into declining the post. The film is based on a scene from my book 'Artemisia - a Regency novel in the tradition of Jane Austen'.

Books

Artemisia - a Regency Novel in the Tradition of Jane Austen
Price: $2.99 USD. Words: 105,560. Language: English. Published: November 12, 2013. Categories: Fiction » Romance » Regency, Fiction » Historical » Regency
(5.00 from 3 reviews)
"A fun confection with a romantic spirit and droll English characters." "I highly recommend this novel and author to readers who love Jane Austen, Georgette Heyer and traditional Regency romances!" - Austenesque Reviews "Artemisia...is a great success; a protagonist of whom Jane Austen would have approved, majoring in wit and intelligence" - Richmond Magazine (UK)

DG Rampton's tag cloud

aristocracy    fun    heyer    historical 1800s    humor    humour    jane austen    regency    suspense    witty