Donna Minkowitz

Biography

Donna Minkowitz's first book, Ferocious Romance: What My Encounters with the Right Taught Me about Sex, God and Fury, won a Lambda Literary Award. It was also shortlisted for the Quality Paperback Book Club's New Visions Award "for the most promising and distinctive work by a new writer." She was a columnist on LGBT politics and culture for the Village Voice from 1987 to 1995, as well as a political columnist for The Advocate. She has also written for the New York Times Book Review, New York magazine, Salon, and The Nation. Minkowitz won the Exceptional Merit Media Award for "In the Name of the Father," a creative nonfiction piece in which she disguised herself as a sixteen-year-old Christian evangelical boy to write about the Promise Keepers for Ms. She has appeared on Charlie Rose and many NPR programs. She lives in New York.

Where to buy in print


Books

Growing Up Golem
By Donna Minkowitz
Price: $9.99 USD. Words: 69,130. Language: English. Published: September 20, 2013 by Riverdale Avenue Books. Category: Nonfiction
In the tradition of Alison Bechdel's Fun Home, Donna Minkowitz’s Growing Up Golem is a sharply funny memoir about growing up inspired by the Jewish legend of the golem. The author's mother told Minkowitz that she could do Jewish magic and, growing up, Minkowitz completely believed her.

Donna Minkowitz’s tag cloud

brooklyn    gay    jewish    lesbian    memoir    mother