Ellen Galford


Ellen Galford is the author of four novels, including The Dyke and the Dybbuk (recipient of a Lambda award from the American Publishers Association), The Fires of Bride, Moll Cutpurse: Her True History, and Queendom Come. She has also written short stories and essays for UK and US anthologies of feminist, Jewish, and LGBT literature, and has recently begun writing poetry, some of it in Yiddish.

Where to find Ellen Galford online

Twitter: @lothianlitvak


Yiddish Lost and Found: Eavesdropping on the Ancestors
Price: $1.99 USD. Words: 21,980. Language: English. Published: November 23, 2015. Categories: Nonfiction » Biography » Cultural heritage, Nonfiction » Social Science » Jewish studies
Yiddish learner and novelist Ellen Galford (author of The Dyke and the Dybbuk, The Fires of Bride and other feminist cult classics) takes a short, sharp look at the fragmentary, battered but tenacious Yiddish that survived three generations of her family’s journey from the Russian Pale of Settlement to the fleshpots of the Bronx and the wilds of New Jersey.

Ellen Galford's tag cloud